STEEMIT WHALE MASCOT: MY THANK YOU TO STEEMIT AND HOW TO MAKE HIM...

in #art8 years ago (edited)

As a 'Thank you' to Steemit I've made a little Whale mascot.

I'm waiting for more supplies to finish some other work and sometimes in this situation I find myself staring into space when I know there could be other, more constructive things I should be doing. Steemit is encouraging me to have the confidence to try things I haven't done in a while..Thank You!

I found some 'Sculpey' glow in the dark oven clay and decided to make this little fella...

Here's how I made him...

I wanted the clay a darker blue so I added some mica powder.
First I made two balls and shaped to make the body and fin.

I joined the body and fin together and rolled out a flat piece in a lighter colour for his underbelly, added some eyes and made two little cone shapes to form a spout.

Next I joined the spout , made a base and added some 'waves' with flattened pieces of clay and some little 'minnows'.
At this point I broke his tail and spout and had to re-do..Oops!

He glows in the dark!

I decided to build the waves up a bit more, adding lots of shiny mica powder and gave him a 'Steemit' flag.
The base and flag were baked for around 12 mins and the whale at around 22 mins at 110 C (fan oven). Using strong glue I joined the pieces together and finished off with a coat of varnish.

Hope I've made the instructions easy enough for anyone who wants a go. Feel free to share and create :)

At the moment I have a lot of pain in my hands so this was a great way to exercise them and forget about that for a while...much better than procrastinating! Modeling clay is great stuff for anyone to have a go at.

I also jointly run a group promoting 'Art for mental health well-being', hopefully I can encourage them to have a go!
I like to make jewellery too so plan to get back to doing that in my breaks between supplies for my art work when my body allows.

Again THANK YOU Steemit for motivating me!

I will abandon this little guy somewhere next week with his Steemit photo to be found and taken to a new home.

*edited due to miss-spellings...there may be more I haven't noticed! :-)

Sort:  

you should sell those for steem! :-)

Will happily make more if anyone wants one :)

That's cool! :)

Thank you :)

nice work sis :-)

cheers bro :) x

Thank you lovely x

Very cool project :)

..and fun to do :). Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91