A Homage to who? resin,acrylic and mica powder...work in progress.

in #art8 years ago

I haven't been able to spend as much time as I'd like in the studio recently but I've finally managed to get something started!
A few months ago somebody kindly donated their dearly departed Tarantula to me for use in my work. I knew what I wanted to do with him straight away.
I wanted to pay homage to someone who passed away this year and Spidey fit in nicely ( I'm a bit weird i know!).

This isn't the finished piece. I'd originally planned a white background, adding layers of coloured mica and resin. Somehow my hands wandered to the primary colours and the white a distant memory!
So far I've added two layers of resin, mica and aluminum filings. I still have one or two more layers of resin/mica to go on and a pot of burnt gold gilding to play with..I've a feeling this piece might be a bit like Marmite (love it or hate it)!
Top left corner is where I am now with just parts of the background visable.
There's a few big clues as to who this represents..have you guessed yet?
I'll hopefully be ordering some more resin soon so I'll post a pic of the final piece then. Getting the resin bug isn't always the best idea. It's fun to use but costly!

NO SPIDERS WERE HARMED IN THIS PROCESS! Spider died of natural causes.

Sort:  

sort of reminds me of Mothra from Godzilla, but I don't think that's who it represents...

Ha ha, no..more a spider from mars ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92