"Vanguard" (8x10 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings Steemians and Artists,

I just finished this new still life. It was painted completely from imagination, which is an interesting challenge. It really makes me think about what I do or don't know--or think I know--about light and shapes and materials. I'm going to do start doing this more often. It will remind me to more keenly observe (and remember) when I'm painting from a real setup.

still_life_326stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

First stage. Block in with umber. My primary goal is to create focus on an interesting dark vessel against light background:

still_life_326stage00.jpg

Next stage. I start painting directly with the knife, covering ground quickly to get a feel for the primary relationship of dark against light:

still_life_326stage01.jpg

Next stage. I'm creating different grays with a balance of ultramarine blue, raw umber, ivory black, titanium white:

still_life_326stage02.jpg

Next stage. I am most concerned with color in the focal vessel, and so for the time being I am ignoring any possible color in the supporting elements:

still_life_326stage03.jpg

Next stage. Now that the panel is totally covered with paint, I'm starting to get a feel for the composition:

still_life_326stage04.jpg

Next stage. I've pushed the cool colors in the vessel, so I begin to place restrained complimentary warm colors as a common thread in the fruit:

still_life_326stage05.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_326stage06.jpg

Next stage. The freedom of painting from imagination. I want a heavy, solid, and interesting base for the objects. I begin to explore this, adding some interest and balance to the painting:

still_life_326stage07.jpg

Next stage. Refining and adding details:

still_life_326stage09.jpg

And the finished painting, "Vanguard" (8x10 oil on panel):

still_life_326stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Wow this is a beautiful painting. admirable art painting is :)

Thank you very much

Wow.. Super inspiring @davidcheifetz!! :D Love watching your progress posts..

Awesome thank you! -D

Amazing artwork!! Your still life painting is much more beautiful than real things!

Thank you for sharing your magic with us @davidcheifetz, this it true joy to watch.

Thank you for showing your process. It is very inspiring to see the progress from start to finish and observe your thinking process

Absolutely gorgeous colours! This is fantastic work :o

Very good artwork! Congratulations!!! I like the step by step. I paint realistic animals in oil.

Congratulations @davidcheifetz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Amazing steps !! Bravo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56