"The Spire" (9x12 oil on linen panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings Steemians and Artists,

This painting remains a personal favorite. There is no greater thrill to me (in painting) than transcending (or attempting to transcend) the limitations of "reality". In my painting career, I soon realized that this aspect of painting was the thing that would sustain my enthusiasm for learning and creating.

still_life_199stagesteemit.jpg

detail

The setup:
Look at this setup. It looks terrible. It would be terribly boring if I was painting literally. But I set it up because I had an image in my mind of how to bring something interesting out of that drill. The physical setup is just a tool to get there.
I keep saying this because I really believe it: It's not what you paint, but how you paint it.

still_life_199stage00.jpg

First stage:
Shape of shadow. My block-ins seem to be getting sloppier with time. Not a good thing or a bad thing-- It's okay as long as you know you'll be able to save yourself later. But if you struggle with proportion and perspective, I would recommend a tighter block-in.

still_life_199stage01.jpg

Next stage:
Just the knife from here on out. Placing vague grapey blobs to round out the composition.

still_life_199stage02.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_199stage03.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_199stage04.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_199stage05.jpg

Next stage:
This strategy has become a valuable tool for me ever since I attended a David Leffel workshop way back in the day: warmer and darker in front, cooler and lighter behind the subject. Kind of a landscape in miniature...aerial perspective.

still_life_199stage06.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_199stage07.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_199stage08.jpg

And the finished painting, "The Spire" (9x12 oil on linen panel, 2013):

still_life_199stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Beautiful. Thank you for showing the process. I like how you left the erratic brush strokes in there for texture. Nicely done on the lighting and accents.

Thank you much :)

Jesus Christ!! such a splendid work... Kept staring at your painting for a while. :) hope to see your art more and more, often would be amazing. Thank you for sharing your art my friend!!

:D ;) Thank you very much!

Join The First FREE And Friendly Voting Service! Join Now! steem.link/inc

Very interesting to see the process as it goes through the stages.

Great to hear, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55