"Organism" (8x16 oil on panel) painting process

in #art7 years ago

When I lived in the Bay Area, I gathered many inspiring references that ended up being paintings. This cityscape was one of my favorites:

cityscape_39stagefinal.jpg

"Organism" (8x16 oil on panel, 2014)

When I paint cityscapes, I use a photo (usually multiple photos) as the starting point. Here is my raw photo:

cityscape_39stage00.jpg

From the raw photo, my goal is to elevate the ordinary to something interesting. I try to create dramatic focus in the painting.
First stage (over an old painting....a weird self portrait). Here I start with large masses and values to see if my concept will work:

cityscape_39stage01.jpg

Next stage:

cityscape_39stage02.jpg

Next stage:

cityscape_39stage03.jpg

Next stage:

cityscape_39stage04.jpg

I'm making focus by targeting the following in one area: higher detail, sharper edges, richer color, higher value contrast.

And the finished painting, "Organism" 8x16. This painting is creepy to me. There is something foreboding about it. The absence of human figures and the stillness is disturbing. I'm not sure if others will get the same feeling from this. I'm pleased with the effect:

cityscape_39stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David
sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Hi, it would be nice to add link to your steemit page on website or on instagram profile, just to verify your account. Absolutely fantastic painting. It would be nice to post here some freshly made stuff, but after all, this is fantastic post, followed and upvoted (:

Oh that's great advice, thank you! Much appreciated. I have just added a Steemit page to the navigation menu on my website. And I will be sure to mix in the new and past works! :)

Fantastic, thanks a lot (:

DOPPEEE!!!! ima follow you on IG bro!!! damn good work...

Hey Thanks! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54