"Heartstrings" (12x16 oil on panel) painting process and thoughts

in #art7 years ago

Greetings,
This is a painting that resolved itself (both conceptually and visually) during the course of its creation. It doesn't always happen this way, but when it does, I find it to be a most satisfying way to work.

oil_figure_42stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

First stage:

oil_figure_42stage01.jpg

Very loose start. How liberating.

oil_figure_42stage02.jpg

Next stage:

oil_figure_42stage03.jpg

More and more my painting process has become a journey of exploration. Searching, testing, trying to find the way. Notice I changed the shadow colors in the face to blue. You don't know until you try. That's the beauty of such a forgiving medium.

oil_figure_42stage05.jpg

It started as wings...then something else came to me.

oil_figure_42stage06.jpg

And the finished painting, "Heartstrings" (12x16 oil on panel, 2016):

oil_figure_42stagefinal.jpg

Details:

oil_figure_42detail1.jpg

oil_figure_42detail2.jpg

oil_figure_42detail3.jpg

"The accumulation of experience has increased my comfort with uncertainty. I'm now more able to enter a painting with only a vague and simple idea, with the faith and determination to flounder for a bit in the middle stages of the painting before coming out the other side. Before starting Heartstrings, I knew the basic layout and color scheme. I wasn't sure about the color in the face shadows, as demonstrated by the shift from warm to cool between process shots 3 and 4. There was an idea to add wings on the left side, but the empty space wasn't there for wings specifically, it was there for space. I wanted that feeling of forward motion (almost a falling motion) towards the right side. Through the act of painting I began to feel the emotional potential of the pose— somewhere between pain and passion—and so I abandoned the wings entirely and made heartstrings."

(Excerpt from my FIGURE book, page 38)

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

I love the pose and the textures in this painting. It’s stunning, well done. :)

Thank you much! :)

ah! so goood...the face, and the pose of the hand....resteeming this.
love the progress shots too!

Awesome thanks!

That is a beatifuly solved painting.

Yeah the light on the face there is amazing

Lovely end result and I really enjoy seeing your process, I have included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

*editing to add I actually included the cross post because this one is past payout, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58