"Heart of Red" (24x18 oil on panel) painting process and animation

in #art7 years ago

Good Morning Artists/Steemians,
In painting, still life was my first love, and it will probably always be my bread-and-butter. I love it for many reasons: the logistics are simple, there are no time limits (except when using things that wilt/rot, and last but not least), total control and freedom. The possibilities for interpretation are endless. The setup is just a starting point. What matters is how the objects are painted.

still_life_190stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail crop

Before creating this painting, I took a trip to the thrift store and got some new junk to paint. A decent haul for $30. (I don't recommend spending a lot of money on potential props. You may end up using it only once or not at all! Allow yourself that freedom. They are just tools to serve your composition.):

1148121l.jpg

Here is the physical still life setup. By the end of this post, you'll notice the intentional deviations in light and color intensity to create focus where I want it. Painting is total freedom!:

still_life_190stage00s.jpg

Next stage. The blue ground is intentional. My plan is to let it show through in spots:

still_life_190stage01s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage02s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage03s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage04s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage05s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage06s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage07s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage08s.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_190stage09s.jpg

A view of my palette:

1148149l.jpg

And the finished painting "Heart of Red" (24x18 oil on panel, 2013):

still_life_190stagefinals.jpg

And a timelapse animation of the stages:

still_life_190animation.gif

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

David, another fantastic painting! How many days did you work on this one? Someday I'll try to tackle a complicated subject like this, but I'm not there yet. You do AMAZING work!

Thank you! :) Oh man it was a while back so I don't really remember. Given the size, probably at least one week, but no more than 2.

amazing work! I love that highlight next to the embellishment on the red vase.
Thank you for sharing your painting process, its actually quite helpful.

Awesome thank you very much! It's great to hear.

I particularly like the tall glass on the left that you can barely see - how do you paint see through things - invisible ink? it just shouldn’t be possible!! Mind throughly boggled

:) :) Thank you!!

Absolutely wonderful, the way the warm red color stands out but not too much as to overshadow everything else is quite interesting for my eyes.

Good call on that blue ground. The color contrast at the end is very nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78