"Chameleon" (12x12 oil on panel) painting process

in #art7 years ago

Greetings,

In the beginning of my painting practice, I was most comfortable with dark backgrounds (being a huge fan of the great David Leffel). The chiaroscuro effect made a lot of sense to me. Light shining in the darkness. But in a way, it was becoming a crutch. I was using it as an excuse to spend less time on the background...to paint it with less care and intentionality. So I forced myself to work with light backgrounds wherein the feeling of mystery could be accomplished using a high key (instead of low key as in a dark painting). Eventually I grew to become equally comfortable with both scenarios. I really enjoy the subtleties of value and temperature that can be explored in the lighter environments.

still_life_225stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

still_life_225stage00.jpg

The setup is above. Back to foil. It's just so interesting to paint. Satisfying. That, and I've never completed a foil painting that didn't sell (knock on wood), so other people must like it too, eh? I guess humans are like magpies.

I wrapped that glass three times before it had the nice foily look that I wanted.

First stage, brush:

still_life_225stage01.jpg

Next, knife from here on out:

still_life_225stage02.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_225stage03.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_225stage04.jpg

Next:
I wanted to push focus to the foil covered wine glass. My values in the rest of the painting (above) were much too contrasty, too distracting. I went back over things and squashed the value range to a very high key in everything except the foil covered glass which will have light lights AND dark darks. By isolating a full value range (and greatest detail) to ONLY the wine glass, it becomes the focal center.

still_life_225stage06.jpg

Right now I see that the color relationships need to be resolved and more incorporated/united, but first that drapery needs a lot more love. I continue fixing until satisfied.

And the finished painting, "Chameleon" (12x12 oil on panel, 2014):

still_life_225stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

The translucence and shadows in the stem of the glass... Painting the impossible, somehow you managed to get that 3d depth there. And the glass isn't perfectly on the edge, but overhanging it. Love these kind of details.

🙏👊🏼 thank you!!

Nice job on the foil. It looks pretty realistic.

Yeah - excellent work on the foil - love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71