"Black Hole" (9x12 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Good Morning,

The painting post for today illustrates a case of pushing my initial concept further and further until it finally worked.

still_life_265stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

The setup:

still_life_265stage00.jpg

My concept is to make the dark mouth of the pitcher the focus of the painting. I want to push it until the darkness is very dominant, dramatic, and maybe a little creepy. That's my mental image at this point in the process.

First stage. Umber shapes of shadow, then straight in with the knife:

still_life_265stage01.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_265stage02.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_265stage03.jpg

At this point things are progressing but the desired effect just isn't there yet. I'm trying to figure out how to make the dark hole even more dominant. I have limited the darks in the rest of the painting, but it isn't extreme enough. I start experimenting, trying to solve this problem.

still_life_265stage04.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_265stage05.jpg

An "aha" moment. I squash the value ranges in the rest of the painting even more. At this point I am using brushes over the dry knifed-on paint (using alkyds, they dry quickly). And I introduce a new element of color that doesn't interfere with my initial concept but adds drama while giving a vertical motion to the painting which helps to balance the composition.

still_life_265stage06.jpg

And the finished painting, "Black Hole" (9x12 oil on panel, 2015):

still_life_265stagefinal.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Cuando sea mayor, me gustaría pintar como tú.
Tengo 66 años. Ahora pinto como puedo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28