Memorial Tattoo Design for my Sister

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My sister asked me to design a tattoo for her. About 7 months ago, we lost a family friend in a car accident. He was someone who had helped raise us as close friends with my mother. Everybody called him "Droid" (his name was Andy... "Android"... get it?).
So. naturally, she asked me to draw her a droid or a robot to memorialize him.
And naturally, I wanted to put my own steampunk twist on it.

I spent some time today putting it together, checking with her as I went. When it came time to pick the colours, I put the picture in Photoshop in order to swap out colours quickly to show her.

This is the final design.

Below are a couple "in progress" pieces to show my flow and progress.
I started with a pretty basic design. I had initially considered making his head like a lightbulb...

...but soon changed my mind. Instead, I flattened the head a bit and added an antenna, a pressure gauge, a gear belt and some detailing.

Next, I did the inking and erased the pencil marks.

And finally, I added some shading detail.

And then into Photoshop to colour it up.

I can't wait to see what it looks like on her!


Steem-Punk-HORIZONTAL-SIGNATURE.jpg
TWB Arts on Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Patreon

Sort:  

Oh wow I didn't know. I remember Andy.

Aye. Killed in a car crash. Wasn't pretty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85