Get it started Pt.6 (or Darkness, no parents... and that's where my similarity to Bruce Wayne ends..)

in #art7 years ago

Hey guys.. on earlier than nine months from now, so that's a good thing.. right Colin's Doctor?

Just about completed a new image today.. it'll be a Mondasian Cyberman (as per end Series 10 just completing), you'll know it when you see it.  :)  I will give you a sneak peek though..

Ooooo, scary....

At any rate, feeling a bit dark today, which is appropriate given the situation I found myself in this morning.. we've just gotten our ride back on the road ($1500 in repairs) and hitting the news feeds this morning after basically being offgrid yesterday finds the news not being great.  Stepmom has passed pretty suddenly while we were offline, so in one way, we had a pretty crap day, and in another way, because we didn't know about it, we celebrated life last night.. which I think is what she would have wanted anyways.  No fuss, just be happy.  So there's that.. we'll likely be heading down there pdq to see everyone.

So where was I.. oh!  Artwork..

I think I may be one of the few people that have Colin Baker's Doctor in my top third favourite Doctors.  As an actor, the guy was in a tough spot, following all the contrary directives coming down to play his role.   Play him as an ass Archie, so that you could peel things back over time and show him to be a swell guy.  Dress him the same way, nevermind the preferences of the actor.  Less exposition, more 'splosions!  So when you're a guy taking a paycheck, you do pretty well what the boss tells you to do.  Oh, and let's shut you down for a number of months longer than anyone else had ever been away, and then blame you for being bad in the role.. that has worked so well recently (Series 4 Tennant, I'm looking at you.. Return of Doctor Mysterio and before that... the previous Christmas special?  Hmmm, thought that they would have learned).  Oh, and lets take everything planned, and crash it into a courtroom drama.. that'll do it.  

But I loved that Doctor.  He was direct, he didn't have too many dampeners (pre-Matt Smith), and really took a lot of chances as a character.  He wasn't meant to be liked, and he followed Pertwee in some aspects in that.. he'd call a dumbass a dumbass and then continue on to see something shiny and zoom off.   And his tenure saw one of the best effects scenes I remember seeing as a kid on TV.. where the TARDIS was grabbed and brought to the courthouse.

And (jiggle jiggle) Peri.. oh Peri.  My happy teenage candy crush (another new image):

poor Nicola Bryant was in the same situation as Colin, except she needed to show more skin on what was marginally a kids show.  Peter Davison's regeneration scene showed us exactly we were in for, nicely summed up here:

So she ran back and forth (jiggle jiggle) and tried to increase ratings while Colin was asked to be nasty.  Sounds bipolar to me, and the show paid for it.  But Colin nailed what was asked of him, and I loved that.  I got his Doctor, and bad scripts aside, he was Point A to Point B and frequently was the cleverest person in the room.  But in the last series, you could tell his Doctor cut his losses.  And then he got stuck with Shrieky 

.. er, Mel Bush:

Another new one btw.. 

And brought us great scenes such as this one (<sarcasm>):

Ahhh, body shame.. you're such a classic </sarcasm>.  (and yet another new picture).  So, the big one that I remember from my memory that Colin's Doctor faced were basically [excellent] these guys.. (and I'm quoting that ol' CyberLeader there):

Oh yeah.. and the Valeyard.

Hang on..

Nope.. one sec..

Just about there..

Yes, the Valeyard blazed the way for Dramatic Gopher in my opinion (four new ones)..

And then the final indignity for Colin.. they turfed him for their mistakes.  They basically told him that he was to blame, but they wanted to film his regeneration scene.  He gave them a reversed "V for Victory" which left the next guy (Sylvester McCoy) to film the scene by himself with a VERY bad wig.  Oh, and with Shrieky.

(last new one for the day)

(ps: when I mean Shrieky, I mean Mel Bush, not Bonnie Langford, who I understand is a wonderful person)

So basically, this post was about new beginnings, which even Colin has gotten thanks to Big Finish.. his Doctor is finally getting the credit he was due.  Except for Shrieky.. I expect that she wound up on some backwater burg in the equivalency of the wrong part of town.  I really didn't like her character.. 

Okay, that's it for another one.. next time, we'll mention this poor sod:

Hopefully this posts, I've got some pretty crappy internet right now, so I'll try posting between antenna reboots.  I' currently getting about two minutes of reasonable signal with about one minute twenty to reboot..

(edit: final time to get posted.. five hours)

See you next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44