Origin of The Yellow Raincoat

in #art7 years ago

Woo_Darius_The Yellow Raincoat.jpg
The Yellow Raincoat
11x15in, 2016

and so the story begins...

I came home from work one night and found a yellow envelope sitting by my front door. The package, sent from an Instagram follower, was filled with a series of postcards. They were vibrant and colourful, and she wanted me to use them as a medium for my art. "That's so sweet!", I barked at no one in particular.

Funny enough, I was immediately drawn to the well-weathered yellow envelope that contained them and had very little interest in whatever was inside. I was determined to do something with it. Not with the shimmering postcards, but with this envelope that most would consider trash.

A gentle scuff here, a subtle tear there; the partially printed postmarks juxtaposing the carefully hand-written address. I took interest in every little imperfection. The pink-faced character organically emerged from this little piece of garbage. I'd love to say there was a reason for the raincoat, but there was none. Niente. Perhaps it was raining that day. Perhaps I saw a babe dressed in one. I have no particular recollection of what came to my mind.

All I can say is this Yellow Raincoat remains one of my most treasured possession to date. Hope you enjoyed my explanation, or lack of thereof, about the origin of The Yellow Raincoat.

IMG_7884.jpg

IMG_7892.jpg

IMG_7896.jpg

WOO LOGO.jpg

Live Long And Prosper

instagram@darius.woo
http://www.dariuswoo.com

Sort:  

I love the story behind how you came up with this. It kind of reminds me how you can buy a kid a fancy toy and they end up just playing in the box! Very cool Darius!

Thank you! That is a very accurate account :)

I think I need more @darius.woo ! You had me at, "Live long and prosper" :)

haha I'll try to keep up with posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54