The Lighthouse of Cape Town

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

Today I want to tell & show you haw I created my pictures "The Lighthouse of Cape Town"
I drew it on one art contest on Golos, but I thing it will be interesting for my English-speaking friends on Steemit.
I saw him on one photo, and it seemed to me that this snow-white building, towering over the raging ocean, is worthy of being painted.

hy8bj7aylp.jpg
I choosing for picture set of tempera paints, watercolor paper (yes, I love drawing with acrilic & tempere paints on watercolor paper) and three synthetic brushes different sizes.

r34espwmnk.jpg

It's my sketch (not from references, the composition was invented by me)

botgzvo40q.jpg

I start drawing with painting the ocean waves.
For background I mixed two colors of paints - blue FC and emerald green. Foreground was painted with adding ultramarine and more emerald green.
The waves near a rocks I painted with the same colors, but diluted with water.
Splashes and foam of waves I painted with white color.

vrefzs9v72.jpg

Then I painted the lighthouse.
One wall in a shadow was painted with mix of iron red, burnt sienna and one of mixes for ocean. A wall in the light I painted with mix of iron red & yellow cadmium. For shadows on the dome I choosed mix of ocher yellow and ultramarine (highly diluted with water). And a side on sunlight I toned some with mix yellow cadmium and white. For glasses was great mix which I used to paint ocean.

tw2bn1rl4m.jpg

And finally foreground - the rocks & big massives of forests.
That parts on sunlight was painted with mix of yellow cadmium and burnt sienna, in some places with the addition of white. The shaded areas - with a mix of burnt sienna and iron red with addition of ultramarine somewhere, and somewhere with emerald green (reflexes from water).
I painted with mix of ocher, cadmium yellow and white to the lightest places.
A foreground, covered with vegetation, I painted with a mix of emerald green with different shades of yellow (more lighter to upper edge of rocks).
In this step I didn't like that dark wall was almost the same color as a rocks on the middle ground, and I maded a light wall more saturated with slightly diluted cadmium red.
Then I drew deep scratches in a walls of rocks with very dark color (a mix of blue FC, emerald green and iron red) and a staircase leading down from one of a walls of the lighthouse.

Here is a seascape from the southernmost point of the African continent, I got!

hy8bj7aylp.jpg

Have a nice day!

Gera

Sort:  

Congratulations @daring-celt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.
You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45