You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who knew working with acid could be fun? (Acid etching a knife.)

in #art7 years ago

take the utmost care not to breathe any fumes while doing this!

On a job long time ago I had to clean metal with acid based products ( pickling and passivating) and at one point my lungs started hurting when I was so dumb to use it indoors without ventilation or respirator mask... never again!

Sort:  

Yeah, I should have mentioned that in the post, but I didn't know how in depth I should go with the process since I didn't wanna drag it on too long. The ferric chloride I use doesn't produce many fumes thankfully, where a paper mask or leaving a window open is enough to handle that aspect. The only thing that sucks about ferric chloride is when you go to neutralize the acid it basically acts like a volcano and can create a huge god damn mess.

ferric chloride is actually not an acid but reacts with water or water vapor and forms hydrogen chloride
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iron(III)_chloride

would battery acid work? but that might be too diluted to work...

Those products I talked about were based on nitric acid... you can make Aluminum as white as a sheet with that stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65