Hand-carved wooden Christmas elf ornament

in #art4 years ago

IMG_9825.JPG

For the past four years my brothers, sisters, and I have been doing a gift-exchange for Christmas where each of our families hand-make a gift for another one, and we cycle through the order. This year I made a gift for my oldest sister's family. When we first started the exchange I came up with the idea of carving an ornament out of wood, and I've now done that each year. This year I decided to go with a Christmas elf. I don't really have any carving experience other than these once-a-year projects, but I think it turned out well. I used a large pocketknife, a small pocketknife, some needle files, and sandpaper. I started by drawing a picture to guide my cuts.

Elf1.jpg

In previous years I carved the piece at the end of the piece of wood but I found that it made it easy to hold in one direction but hard to get a grip on in the other, so this year I decided to leave a gap at the top and then carve the piece from the middle to see if that made things easier since I would have a "handle" on either end, and I think it did.

Elf3.jpg

The original drawing called for thinner limbs, some areas that would require cuts through the figure, and sharper features, but as I was carving I realized some of those choices were a bit impractical, at least at my skill level. Also, whenever I had to carve the parts of the wood that would end up removing the drawings I would tend to get a bit nervous, since I was using them as guides for where to carve.

Elf5.jpg

Before I got done with the final details I was a bit nervous about how it would read, for a while I couldn't stop seeing the resemblance to a pig with the face, but I think that just stuck in my mind from when I left a round circular area in the face to be carved away later.

Elf6.jpg

Elf7.jpg

I wanted the ornament to be able to be hung if they wanted, so I decided to leave a "block" at the top of the hat that could support a loop, and I hoped it would read as something structural in the wood rather than a weird feature of the hat. I have a lot of tendencies toward perfectionism, but on balance I'm satisfied with how it turned out, and my sister and her family say they liked it, and that's the important thing.

Elf8.jpg

I made a small turntable and took a video of it spinning so I could show it from 360 degrees (btw, you can set a youtube video to infinitely loop with the right-click context menu).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78