Redesigning my old Ficus benjamina Bonsai | History, evolution and photographs

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi all! Today, taking up the publications on bonsai works, I share with you this redesign of this Ficus benjamina, known in my country as an ever green tree. This is a Bonsai tree with a double trunk style (Sokan in Japanese), although its design seems simple, I can tell you that as such, working as a bonsai, this species of trees is very complete, since it increases in thickness very fast and has burying the wire in the bark, producing marks that degrade the appearance of our tree. Also these ficus are very elastic and their wood very soft so when wiring and locating branches should be located slightly below the point where we want the branch, because removing the wires tends to change the location a bit.

History

This tree is one of the oldest in my collection, it is approximately 13 years old since its first work as a bonsai and it was acquired in a nursery from a very popular department store in my country, it was really a gift from my wife (at that time was my girlfriend), and good the little tree is still preserved in optimal conditions.

I remember one day coming back from a walk through Germany and I literally found a disaster, my 1 year old Golden Retriever bitch at that time, devoured the first branch of the biggest tree, really hit a scream NOOOO CAN BE, because in a bonsai tree the first branch is the most important of the composition. At that time I got down to work to recover the design. What I came up with was to first let the second branch of the larger tree grow freely and then lower it sharply with wires and place it in the space occupied by the first branch that was devoured by my cub.

The tree spent several years in one of the least visible places in my bonsai garden, and it was almost 3 years later when he went out to his first exhibitions.

As every bonsai is always in evolution, since it is a living art, that is to say that you never finish redesigning and redesigning, about 6 months ago I returned to work with this tree which was as shown below in the photo.

Apply several techniques to reduce the size of the leaf as defoliation and pruning some twigs that were in sight. A few days later they invited the whole group of the Bonsai Society to a show at a cultural event and I decided to bring this tree, along with others from my collection.

Now if today's work!

After that exhibition of Bonsai, the tree was developed in the garden, this week it was scheduled to clean and refine foliage. But when I started the desalination there was something that I did not like, I hit the eye, as the practitioners of this art say when something does not fit into the design. I decided to make a fold in the smaller trunk, creating the sensation of movement.

It was then that I readjusted the wires and applied techniques of tutors for trunks, then a selective pruning and this was the result:

Ups! Suddenly Lara (my new puppy) appeared in the photo, and I remembered that the bonsai and the puppies do not make a good combination. After placing Lara in a safe place, now yes, I show you the result of the redesign work that applies to this Bonsai. What do you think? If you like you can leave your comment and support with upvote.

If you want to see more bonsai and learn its techniques and care, follow the label of #TeamBonsai and do not forget to support with upvote and make resteem, if more than comment I wish you a blessed day!

Sort:  

Your bonsai tree is an awesome work of living art. Have always loved looking at bonsai but even thinking of attempting to grow/shape one is, for me , mindboggling.
Reading about how much trouble you had to go through in order to get this desired result only confirms it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dlozada_3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oops, sorry I missed this one. I did not find this post until today.

Tremendous talent and zeal, as always. Let me know the next time you post something related to #bonsai.

I really like the big scar on this tree. Is that where your dog bit it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44