My Origami Chair Design

in #art7 years ago

untitled.1391.jpg
Many times when I start thinking of a design I start in one end and end up in a completely different place then I thought I would from the beginning. Some people would call me scatterbrained, I prefer the word Creative.
When I opened my eyes to Origami, Japanese paper folding, I very fast thought that it would be cool to use this principle for furniture. At heart I am a furniture designer, but I never want to make a furniture that is not artistic. Therefore Origami seemed like the perfect technique to explore and to help add an artistic touch to something which otherwise might be very ordinary.
It hit my after sometime that it would be really cool to make a chair with Origami structure. I choose to use transparent acrylic board as material as I feel it compliments the angles and gives a crystal like look to the object. The slight blue tone gives the material a more solid feeling and accentuates the shape of the chair.
untitled.1392.jpg
I think an important thing is never to be satisfied with a design idea to early, I think it is important to realize that a design can always develop further.
untitled.1393.jpg
Can this technique be used to make a table, a shelf or ... ? Well only your mind will restrict you, what kind of furniture or other object do you think would be cool to use Origami design for ?

Sort:  

Looks awesome!

Thank you @momoroongchao!

Origami design is great for architecture :) I used it for my thesis work at school. Love the chair, maybe one day you should build it. Resteemed.

I would really like to build it I think it would be fun ! I think it's really cool that you used Origami for your thesis. I would really like to see some of that work it sounds very interesting :)

wow amazing, i hope have skill like that @dandesign86

I must say, it is very creative. But is it comfotable too?

Some work definitely has to be done for the ergonomic aspect you are right- I consider it a work in progress:)

Nice way of folding metal.

Wow great skill

Quite beautiful and futuristic

Thank you for your input and feedback I appreciate it !

I never seen this type of design looking great and attracting. What software you have used to draw this design. I feel front part of the chair at bottom to be open for legs movement.

That's exactly what i was thinking. There must be some open space for the legs.

Hi there, thanks for your advice and the chair does need some ergonomic improvement for sure like you mention. For this design I used Rhino for modeling and then Keyshot for rendering

Great work, I love the simplicity and also the clear look of the chair. Good job! :)

Thank you for your feedback and simplicity was definitely an element I wanted to communicate in this design, good observation:)

It's unique, I hope you could design this chair and sell it!

Thank you so much! I am so occupied in my current work that I have put my dreams on hold, but I really would like to change that.. thanks for your support!

Don't put your dreams on hold! :)

Considering how fast time is passing by recently it is a really good advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52