5 Reasons Why You Should Start Taking Salsa Lessons!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians, 

There are many reasons I love salsa dancing, however I just going to mention five of them. I’ve been dancing salsa for the last fourteen years. I have met a lot of people and achieved thousands of experiences. If you do not like salsa, there are plnety of options. If you haven't tried yet, maybe you should give it a chance. At least consider thes reasons to start taking dancing lessons:


1. Have Fun. Latin music is all about having fun. Either if you are a newbie or a performer, the salsa scene is designed to get together and celebrate life. Latin-American people always use music to try to forget their troubles. Some people start salsa dancing because it can help you to surpass a very stressful day. I have encouraged some friends to take salsa lessons during to recover from a difficult time in their lives. It definitely helps them to find a new perspective of their problems. They could be part of something, something different. They found people with the same passion. After their first performance, they could also realize that they could beat their fears. 


Source: pexels.com


2. Meet new people. The salsa scene is the perfect place to find new friends. It doesn't matter if you are new in town or you are an experienced dancer. There are always people trying to find partners in crime. I met some of my best friends on the salsa scene. At the beginning the dance floor might seem intimidating, however there are a lot of people just trying to get together and share their passion. You will find music lovers, performers, musicians, instructors, DJ's, etc. In summary, you can meet people with all kind of hobbies and cultural backgrounds. I shouldn't say this but you can also find someone special there. That is not the main reason I started with this hobby. However, it is very nice to share my passion with my girlfriend. Some other friends found their couples at the salsa scene. So, why not give it a try?


Source: pexels.com


3. Discipline and commitment. After sometime taking lessons, most likely you will want to perform or to participate in a contest. To achieve your goals, you are going to need a lot of commitment and practice. This is a very fun and practical way to achieve new skills, especially for kids or teenagers. Performers and artist have to invest a lot of time to be successful. Particularly I do not perform, but I had a salsa band, so I remember practicing a lot before a presentation. It takes a lot of effort and personal time. You can also learn that teamwork is very important.


4. Healthy Activity. Dancing is a very nice way to keep you in good shape. If you are a beginner it might seem a bit boring, however you will notice that it could get very demanding. To be successful, you are going to need to practice frequently. Usually, if you are a performer you have to go to the gym on a regular basis, go to bed earlier and change your eating habits. Salsa dancing can help you to manage your stress. When I take lessons it becomes a relief after a stressful day at work. I cannot play soccer anymore but I will be dancing for as long as I can.


Source: pexels.com


5. Open your mind. At the salsa scene you’ll find people from all around the globe. You are about to open a door to a new culture. Latin music has a lot of history. Mostly of the latin music is in Spanish, so you might want to take some Spanish lessons or traveling to latin countries to fully understand our culture. I always encourage my non-latin friends to learn a bit more about the origin or meaning of a song. Maybe you also want to play a new instrument. After some time lots of my friends decided to become professional musicians or DJ’s. They discovered a lot of possibilities not just salsa dancing. Also they found their love for other kind of music and styles, such as: Kizomba, Souk, Mambo, Tango, etc. Possibilities are endless.


Anyway, I hope yu can consider some of these reasons to give it a try and become part of the salsa scene. Hope you can change your live and have fun!


See you on the dance floor!


Follow me: @dancefloor



Sort:  

Thanks to provide Great New and Useful Information

Yes!!! It seems so fun! And it is on my list to try to learn 🤗💃💃💃💃

You won't regreat! It is supper fun believe me. I'm following you, hope you can follow me back. Cheers!

Congratulations @dancefloor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18