It's All a Matter of Perspective

in #art6 years ago (edited)

"The only thing you sometimes have control over is perspective. You don't have control over your situation. But you have a choice about how you view it." -Chris Pine

Dana-Seims-Photography-Down-the-Way.jpg

Looking at this photo, in particular, is difficult for me, well somewhat. It's more of a mixed bag really. On one hand, it makes me remember the times my father and I had in San Francisco. We both went out to California so I could check out the Academy of Art University. I wanted to pursue my Master's in 3D Animation and Visual Effects, so we flew out from New York to check out the college and the city. It was love at first sight, and we both had a great time exploring and admiring the beautiful city that is San Francisco. I took this photograph on the Golden Gate Bridge, it was one of the first things we did. Not because it's what most people do when they visit San Francisco, but because we loved anything dealing with architecture, mechanics, etc. It was something we shared. The Golden Gate Bridge is considered to be "a marvel of modern engineering", and it was certainly nice to get an up close and personal look. Me being the photographer that I am, I spent probably about 30/45 minutes taking photos of the bridge from every angle conceivable. Plus taking photos of the fog rolling in was a lot of fun, especially since I got to watch it engulf the bridge while I was standing on it.

I didn't know it at the time, but it would be one of the last times my father and I got to travel and explore together. A few years later he was diagnosed with cancer and past away about a year after his initial diagnosis. Hence why looking at this photo evokes a mixed response from me. One of sadness, because it makes me remember my father, and I miss him dearly. But on the other hand, it brings a flood of good memories, and I do believe that everything is a matter of perspective. People die, it's the way of life, and there's nothing I can do to stop it. You grow up knowing that everyone you know and love will eventually die, and while this is a pretty 'morbid' thought, it's the reality. So why be scared of this, or be sad? We are all in the same boat. It's just the way things are. Even though it does make me sad, obviously, I know these things happen so instead I rather this photograph serve as a reminder of the good times we had and shared. It is a matter of perspective after all.

Check out my other work on https://www.instagram.com/dana_seims_photography/

#steemit #photofeed #art #photography #photographer #danaseimsphotography #sanfrancisco #california #goldengatebridge #fog #perspective #travel #artist #nyartist #longisland #nature #artwork #quotes #inspirationalquotes #inspiration #pics #pictures #photos #photooftheday #picoftheday #travelphotography #nikon #sf #life #lifelessons #reality #williamseims #RIP #daddy #imissmydad #blog #realitytunnel #realitygrid #writing #love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30