You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections of a mermaid - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago

This is fantastic work. I'll be following your account from here on out.

I get the attraction for ephemeral art. In the arts group that I run, we make wooden sculptures with the intent on burning them at a big celebration party when they are finished.

Your post reminds me of a snow sculpture that a friend of mine did this past winter. He did it in a very busy public park and it lasted for days before the snow melted. I kept an eye on the park in Instagram, and it was cool to see his work being photographed and shared around on different people's instagram feeds, and to see comments from people that had never met the guy.

Here's a pic of the snowman that my friend made.

snowman.jpg

Sort:  

Yes the ephemeral art are very much a performance as about the finished piece. I have also made a few fire sculptures in my day. I like the way you create something only to have it's destruction the performance.
I like you friends sculpture. Here in Ireland last winter we had some really heavy snow but I didn't get a chance to make anything because I was hard at work in my studio doing some wood work. Hopefully next year I'll get a chance.
Thanks for you comment and sorry for the late reply.
Following you now also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42