Finally Introducing Myself: The life of a Desi Girl In America

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hey peeps! I’m Sadaf and you can call me daf, daffy, or daphnie, but fun fact! My name is actually Persian meaning pearl. I have my own food brand you may have run into at the store but unfortunately someone else is reaping those profits!

Born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, I’ve been able to experience so much of the world while living here. It’s mainly been through food, but having friends from different ends of the world helps too!

I’ve spent most of my life thinking I was destined to be a doctor, not that my brown parents had anything to do with that cough cough. It was only when I voided my score after taking the MCAT did I have second thoughts. I loved chemistry lab with the fireworks and bubbles—you know the mad scientist aspect—so I figured why not get more of that during my master’s program.

I’ll be real, lab got boring after 2 years! After finishing my program, I joined the dark side. Started selling opioids, Breaking Bad status. Okay, not that bad. Pharmaceutical sales did turn out to be something that I enjoyed, and I mean I can tell my parents I’m practically a doctor right?!

Outside of work, my rhythm of my heart syncs up with Bollywood. I’ve been dancing since I was in high school and created my own team while in college. Now I’m part of a group called BollyNaach, and we are about to be the NEXT BIG THING! [ I am the one on the right in red :D]

Continuing with the artsy side of me, I love doodling, painting and henna. I travel to places through my landscapes and feel a touch of home while doing mehndi. Its how I find my inner zen, and I love sharing it with the world. I will be posting more of that later. Look out world! :D

Why steem? I wanted to be the first brown girl on here, add some traditional spice to the mix, and share my life while making some $$$ so I can travel outside of the San Francisco Bay Area. I really want to go to India some day, so let’s make that happen!

I also like to answer some questions, so go ahead and ask away.

Donate bitcoin:

135NB4n3Fz3HuDGUy7EX5bBLXxgbViaDeq

#introduceyourself

Sort:  

Welcome. My family and I are heading to San Fran the first week of August. Beautiful place!

Thank you. If you are coming here in August, let me know. Maybe we can link up and I can definitely show your family around the City. :D

You can make money by bringing good content here but not by taking donations. Try to stick with some topic where you're majored and prove to steem community that you are a valuable asset here!

Welcome to the community steemit @daf

THANK YOU VIVIT! :D

Oh you are so pretty!! Welcome!!
Love seeing more smart ladies joining the community #GirlPower 💁🏼
would love to see more of your mehndi work 😍

Thank you soo much! #GirlPower all day. Same here and I will let you know when I post more of my henna work and paintings.

yes! please do !

I don't think you're going to need the donate bitcoin hash after this post..

Well maybe just a little, but I will definitely be posting more interesting things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05