You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet the DADAGAN

in #art5 years ago

@post-modern It is! What do you mean by too far? Alex Reben, the artist who is training it, is curating the drawings so obviously on this first batch, it learned faces pretty quickly. We want it to learn other shapes. But as we say in our blog post on the link, really it's the trainer who feeds the GAN and tweaks and curates. What is eerie is how it looks like it could be human made. Thanks for replying!

Sort:  

I was curious about what parameters the artist had so the robot doesn't disobey, nor do anything unwanted cause of an oversight in the programming. And those types of concerns didn't seem addressed in the article. I know next to nothing about machine learning, so I don't want to assume people like Alex Reben are careless right away, but I wanted to ask out of curiosity and personal concerns. One of my main thoughts is related to Isaac Asimov's rules for robots, particularly where they are supposed to obey their master.

I will have to check out the blog post linked later. It might go over some of my concerns that were not addressed reading this steemit post earlier this morning.

I will be gone for a while, so if you respond back, and don't see another response for a while, that's why. Thanks for your reply back, and have a great day!

@post-modern we are planning an in-depth interview with Alex Reben and will be sure to communicate your fascinating questions, because we are not roboticists ourselves. I'm not sure that the GAN can disobey, given that it's a system that just discriminates from a training dataset it is fed. It doesn't have volition. It may make mistakes of logic.
For more info follow our blog

Oh cool!

Thanks for the response and verification.

I'll plan on following the blog. It sounds quite interesting. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46