Horny Cyclops - Original Art

in #art6 years ago

Variations on a Theme - Horny Cyclops


Horny Cyclops3.jpg

There is not a lot to do in my cave, so I got satellite internet and have been spending a lot of time messing around online. Hello, Steemit! I also love to draw. Recently I have been combining these two pastimes. I have discovered that doodling a small (sticky note sized) drawing in cross hatch style can yield some amazing results when scanned in at high resolution and ran through the Deep Dream Generator. The neural network can apply detail to make the drawing look appropriately detailed at much larger sizes than the original doodle. Last night I drew a quick sticky note portrait of my cousin Horny Cyclops.

Original pen and ink Horny Cyclops on sticky note:
Horny Cyclops.jpg

Below is an example of raw output from the Deep Dream Generator, using the image to the right as style image. Note I do not own rights to this style image, I am presenting here as fair use in reporting on my process.

Sometimes I like the resulting image as is, but more often I take the image output from the Deep Dream Generator and remove the background in PhotoShop to just leave the subject. In the case of the post cover image, I also set the transparency to 75% so the original pen crosshatch would show through a little bit.

More Variations on the Theme of Horny Cyclops

Horny Cyclops 4.jpg

Here is an example of one with the Deep Dream Generated background:

Horny Cyclops 5.jpg

PhotoShop Inner Bevel effect used here to make this seem like a gold medallion:
Horny Cyclops gold.jpg

Another example of setting the image output from the Deep Dream Generator to 75% transparency in PhotoShop and overlaying the original pen and ink cross hatch so that some of the original pen lines show through:
Horny Cyclops 6.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful!
Hope you dont mind but I posted it on my Twitter.
Got quite a few Steemians there so hopefully you get some more upvotes!!

Have a lovely day!

That is awesome! I don't mind at all.

Seems its becoming hornier day by day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72