What shapes your artistic style

in #art6 years ago

There are tons of different styles when it comes to drawing, if y4ou've just started to learn, your mind might be busy with these questions: how do you choose one to follow? how do you create your unique style?

Choosing a style doesn't usually happen all at once, your style is shaped over the course of your training and the major influence comes from your personal preferences, your likes and dislikes.
You usually choose the references that look good to your eyes for your training, a subject matter or art style that resonates with you have more chance to make it to your training sessions. these little choices nudge you towards your position on the art style spectrum.

It is likely that you'll follow different styles, learn different approaches and incorporate many of their nuances and tricks into your routine, soon you will develop a patchwork monster that works for you and you love, this monster is a part of you, an extension of your personality and the love child of your brain. that's why many artists remain attached to their artwork, get offended easily when their work is criticized and maintain a defensive stance when somebody tries to convince them to change something in their piece, even when that somebody is their boss.
of course it's not always the case, experienced artists learn to deal with criticism the right way and evaluate their work not as themselves and look through the eyes of their client. but that's a separate topic that I might open when I got there.

The other factor that effects your style is your resources and your limitations, after all you learn from what's available to you, it is pretty hard to learn from a master that's behind a paywall that you can't afford. it's nearly impossible to learn oil painting using charcoal or pencil, and you can watch every video about water color on YouTube but it's highly unlikely that you'll start producing a flawless masterpiece the first time you work with watercolors.

That's enough baseless rambling for one day, I guess the point I want to get across is: it is likely that you have already chosen the style you want to draw in, you just don't know how it looks yet. just leave it to your brain and stop stressing about it.


Now let's talk about me...
I am influenced by western cartoons and anime style, simple stuff, and I don't have much desire to do realistic drawings, however I'm aware that learning realistic is a necessary base for more stylized styles, hopefully at some point I can dedicate more time to learning those basics to improve my work, but for the time being, I'll stick to what's in demand online.
for subject matter, I'm drawn to humor specially adult humor, once I get confident enough, I might attempt to draw one page comic ideas that I have in my mind to offer some entertainment value along the way.
as for limitations, I have some advertising tract that I've got on the street, a pen and a pencil that my brother's friend left here and only internet to learn from, I think I'm set for now ;)
it's not like I can't afford to buy paper, I'm just saving as much as I could to spend on a pen-tablet to start working digitally. got priorities ;D


and for the boring part, here's some nightmare on paper.
P_20181114_070511.jpg
you can almost see the references poking through, guess I'm improving the line from my eyes to my hand.
P_20181114_070530.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations @curves! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @curves! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @curves! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60