Art Project - Adorable Tiny Lampshades!

in #art7 years ago

I just finished making three out of six tiny Victorian Lampshades. I'm halfway there and I'm so excited to get them all done so I can create my "installation".

Why Tiny Lampshades?

My intent is to emulate and surpass an idea I saw on Pinterest (above). Apparently, hanging small LED lampshades outside is all the rage at weddings these days. However, I don't intend to create them for a wedding. Instead, I will hang them from a beam in a covered eating space at my house, for fantastic Bohemian-style al fresco meals with friends! Rather than using ribbon to obfuscate the hanging cords, I plan on using string ivy. This is going to be so cool.

The Shades

I make all of the shades by hand, including dyeing the silk, lining the shades, selecting the materials, and sewing all the goodies onto the shade frames. While I usually hand-string be beads, I have elected to use pre-strung beads for two out of three shades shown here. Weight is the primary driver for this decision since the shades will hang on cords and glass beads are incredibly heavy. Please enjoy the finished images, as well as some of the shade-making process photos.

The Tiny Mauve Velvet

This shade frame is called "Mini Shelby". I ordered two frames from California last year and never used them because I simply could not find a lamp tiny enough to put them on. So the plan to hang them is a perfect solution.

For this shade, I used Procion dye and made a batch of gold and a batch of dusty rose. I dyed silk charmeuse for a first layer, and silk burnout velvet for the second layer. If I only put velvet on it, you would be able to see right through the burned-out spaces, and we don't want that!

This one was a lot of sewing as, each alternating panel is a separate piece of fabric. I used a gold metal lace on the side panels, a nice gold and white blend trim to follow the lines of the wires, and the beads are pre-strung acrylic.

The Sherbert

This shade was a lot of fun to make, and is insanely elaborate. I dyed the base silk on this one from bubble-gum pink to golden yellow, using Procion. For the next layer, I alternated between beige silk netting, and white French lace. The final and flowery layer is from a 1920's piano shawl that I bought on Ebay. The wire lines are trimmed in heavy bright gold metal, and the beads for this one are hand-strung.

You can see it here on a lamp base, which just doesn't look right to me--so this one will hang, despite the its weight.

The Pink and Blue

Another "Mini Shelby" frame style, this little beauty is covered in silk that I dyed using Hyacinth RIT dye, and Pink Procion dye. It looks purple in the photo, but it truly is a faded blue. For a sense of scale, check out the Diet Coke can! The shade is smaller than a can of Coke!

This shade is loaded with antique textiles, starting with a layer of blue silk lace from an antique 1800's gown. The lace is silk and was a little fussy--I poked holes in it twice trying to sew it onto the frame but it was truly worth it. The side panels host pressed silver metal tape lace, which is no longer made, anywhere in the world, and the front panel has just a touch of silver metal filigree lace. The wire trim is a nice vintage narrow silver trim, and the pre-strung beads are a perfect color match.

Next Steps

I am so excited to finish the next three tiny shades, in completely different shapes and styles! I'll make another post when those are done, for those of you who like this kind of thing.

Until then, here's a sneak peek at the next one in line. This one is made of copper wire, and I've never seen that before. Truly vintage.

Stay tuned for the next set. Peace to you and THANKS FOR READING!

Images copyright @crystalize, with exception to Pinterest image noted above.

Sort:  

Wow I am just amazed at how beautiful your handmade lamps are! The fact that you handmade these is just amazing! These lamps are absolutely beautiful and detailed, very inspiring work @crystalize!

I have made an initiative here on Steemit to spread needlework art and get it displayed. Sewing, knitting and crocheting seems to have become a lost art, that is until I joined Steemit. I learned that there are quite a few crafters that still love these arts. A group of us share our needlework creations every Monday using the tag #NeedleworkMonday. We share ideas, tips, patterns and techniques while encouraging and inspiring one another. Any art involving a needle is welcome! You can post new projects that you are working on or archived projects that you have pictures of. I would love for you to join us on Mondays and post under the tag so everyone can find your work. It has gotten pretty popular these past few months and more crafters are starting to share. I hope you check it out :) Thanks for your time~

Hi @CroShellie!What a wonderful idea! I'm in. See on Monday at #NeedleworkMonday! Fantastic.

Yay Awesome!!! Looking forward to having you!!! Thank you~ 😃

Let me know how I can get more folks into the #NeedleworkMonday group. I will do it! Just upvoted and followed everyone who posted last week!

Oh wow thank you so much! I really appreciate that. When I find someone posting their creations I usually invite them to join us. If you see anyone with a needlework skill please feel free to tell them about it! Thanks again for your help :) I’m looking forward to our Mondays growing!

These are beautiful! What amazing work! I'm very impressed!

Thank you, @violetmed! I really appreciate the compliment!

It turned out very beautiful!

Thank you, Sweetie!

Another gorgeous lamp project @crystalize. They always look amazing.

Thank you, @choogirl! You always notice.

Beautiful project! Reminds me of my childhood home back in the day.

That would look so totally funky!! We had a bar when I was young called the nightshade, and they had all upside down lamps in it, and deco furniture!! I loved it!

I'm getting closer! Only 2 more shades to go! Woot!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @crystalize to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice work. Might you be interested in selling some of your items on my website which I just re-configured to accept STEEM? I believe that for STEEM to succeed there needs to be a market economy where we can buy and sell each other's stuff. If you're interested please find me on Discord by private message or in @whatamidoing's Be Awsome channel. I'm @yulem. If all that fails just reply here. Thanks and good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33