A Glimpse of My Opal Wire Wrap - Handmade Copper Jewelry - Work in Progress

in #art7 years ago

I'm still practicing my wire working with copper as it's a bit more forgiving financially with mistakes. I intend to move to sterling silver and get some extra tools as well. Currently I'm only using a single pair of needle nose pliers. Getting a set of curved and round nose should tremendously help my flow.

image

I didn't have any design or stone in mind when I started this piece. I was experimenting with the coils around coils pattern for the first time and that ended up being a perfect size to be the base for this Australlian opal. It's been a fun freestyle.

I've never actually wrapped two stones into one pendant before, but this little herkimer diamond quartz just wanted to hop in as well. I feel like the clarity of the quartz brings out the opals flash.

Now I just need to secure the quartz a bit better and add a sturdy bail. But I will wait until the next creative spark to hit me first. I'll post the finished pendant in the future.


Sort:  

Gorgeous. I did not realize opal came in green.

I've seen opal flash in almost every color imaginable. There are just so many different opal types.

nice work. those coils are one of my favourite things to incorporate into jewellery. surprisingly easy to get right as well!
following you now too

@crystalgeometry Very nice piece :)

Thank you! If I can finish it how I envision, it may be one of my best pieces so far. I'm still extremely new to jewelry making. I just love stones so much and am trying to honor them well.

From the looks you're doing pretty good already :) Steem on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44