Inspiration, creativity blocks and pineapples

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Inspiration comes and goes as if a thousand thunderbolts were travelling from my mind toward the heedless clouds. Treacherous heaven, so empty sometimes, yet seeding thoughts of fullness.

I've been having a thought these last few days about the creativity blocks that I've been experiencing for a while. I realised that there is a phenomenon that might affect more people, but at least it's very serious in my behaviour.

Whenever I have a task, be it imposed by myself or by others, I block myself of other things. It's simple, if you have to get ready because someone is picking you up in half an hour, you don't spend 29 minutes drawing pineapples while waiting in your underwear. At most, you draw pineapples for 15 minutes and then you start getting ready.

image.png

Well, I've decided that I wanted to participate in two contests, so I stopped doing anything else! I didn't write any posts meanwhile, I didn't write any of the other stories I wanted to do, I didn't even write down my dreams. Meanwhile, I was feeling really lazy about doing the posts for the contests, so I also skipped that.

Instead, I did nothing.

And I noticed that this is a pattern that if left unobserved, gets really in the way. I don't do A because I need to do B, but I don't want to do B, so I do neither. I decided then that doing nothing is not the way to go. This has gone too far.

If I don't do something I need to do because I don't want to, at least I'll do something else meanwhile. I'll also try to get myself to do what I need to do, but I won't do nothing, because that's worse than not doing either of them.

So I drew pineapples. I hope you enjoyed them.

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I did enjoy it. Especially the pineapple hat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81