Raising an Entrepreneur!

in #art6 years ago

C5C08F0A-2AD2-4619-8BBE-D06A277EC0ED.jpeg

Although I am a SAHM, I have acquired some skills over the years that I use to help support my family. If something were to ever happen to my husband (Lord forbid) where he couldn’t work, I would be able to use my skills to temporarily hold up my family. I grew up in a home with hard working parents that always made ends meet. I watched my mother sew for clients and my father who is now a retired electrician, always picked up side jobs for extra income. I have always been an entrepreneur at heart.

My eight year old daughter watches me pretty closely. When I’m selling my crochet work, doing photography events or my little online gigs she is always asking questions. Little did I know she was gathering intel for her own experiment.

Last month she came to me and asked

Momma, can I sell my artwork to people to make money?

It took me a minute to answer, I just looked at her with this puzzled grin...kind of waiting to see if she was serious or just wanting a reaction. Finally I said

Well if people are willing to buy them I don’t see why not.

She had already been working on her collection of drawings, it was just a matter of asking us if it was okay. That very same day she sold the drawing above named ’Girls’ to her Nana for $2.00. This wasn’t her “asking”’price. Let me share with you how this went...

Daughter: (shows picture to her Nana) Hey Nana do you like this picture?

Nana: Awww yes I sure do! It’s so cute, you did a good job on this!

Daughter: Would you like to have it?

Nana: Of course I would. You’re giving this to me? Thank you!

Daughter: (puts out her hand) That will be $5.00 please. 😂

Nana: 😲 $5.00?? You’re charging me? You’re not even a known artist yet.

Daughter: What’s a known artist?

Nana: A popular artist where everyone is familiar with their work. You can’t charge that kind of money yet. How about I give you $2.00?

Daughter: I’ll take it! 😁

I am so tickled at my daughter, she is determined to sell her work.

1C9063F1-E07F-4BEF-B5A9-C904C4109A9E.jpeg

Business Rolls In

839BE8E8-8EE7-4A9F-8AED-25A12B2F8B1A.jpeg

It’s funny that she started this business venture during the holiday season because we had a lot of family visiting. Hmmmm did she plan that out too? 🤨🧐🤔 Knowing her she probably did lol! These three drawings were sold to her brother, auntie and uncle. She approached her auntie the same way she did her Nana. She was so shocked when my daughter asked her for $3.00. She couldn’t help but laugh and show how proud she was of her for being confident in her work. She gave her $3.00 for ‘The Man’ drawing. My sister in law chose that picture as an inspiration to get back in shape. 😄

Her seven year old brother liked ‘The Fox’ picture. She said this fox had been working out to be the strongest in the woods. He paid her $1.00!

When her uncle came over she brought down her drawings and laid them on the table. Before she said a word he pulls out $1.00 and says I’ll take ’The Family’ pic! He’s an entrepreneur himself so maybe he just knew the language. 🤷🏽‍♀️ She gave him a big hug and a thank you and ran to add her earnings to her savings box. He picked that picture because it represents him, his mom and two siblings.

929ECE94-9979-41C9-9C94-CED026E57E9C.jpeg

Clever Selling Strategy

3B90E5F6-FF96-48DE-917C-3A0DF8F4F416.jpeg

Later on this same day of business, my mother was going to stop over. I told my daughter her MaMa was coming and she gives me this clever grin, rubs her chin and says

I know just what MaMa would like.

She was gone a second later. She ran upstairs to get to work on a “custom” drawing that her MaMa couldn’t resist. My eight year old daughter is customizing drawings according to what people like to make sure she gets a sale. Wow, at this point I’m mind blown.

So my mother comes over and she presents the first picture on the left. She tells her about the picture (she drew herself and my mother outside...my mother loves being outside) and then gives her the price...$5.00. Once again another surprised reaction! My mother laughs and says

Okay I love your drawing but the colors make it look dark and eerie. If you make me something brighter with more color I will give you your $5.00.

My mom was gonna make her work for that amount. She was her toughest customer yet. 😅 The remake is the picture on the right. Her MaMa was a happy customer! She even added her PaPa in the picture who is complaining about how hot the sun is. My father really doesn’t like the heat.

227FE3A8-E2CD-48DC-9B9A-779C73D0E936.jpeg

Momma’s Pick

0B21CB4A-3466-407A-8797-7DF7838F504B.jpeg

This one is very special because it is mine! 😊 I watched her draw this one from beginning to finish. When I first saw the ninja I knew I wanted this one. She said the ’Ninja’ found the secret scroll and awakened the city, thus the lights in the buildings are all turned on. Then she added that he stepped in a puddle of water. 😆

You’re probably wondering how much I paid. We rarely keep cash on us so I had to be clever. I went to my husbands computer desk and grabbed $0.30. I handed it to her and said

Here baby, this is all momma has but let’s add in the everyday love and care that I give you. 🤗😉

She looked at me, smiled and said

Sure mama, here ya go! ❤️

Oh yea! Nothing like a mother’s touch, we’re so special. ☺️

She sold a few more to her Nana’s hair clients as well. Her auntie told her to keep making more and she will be back to get them! Here are two more she has stashed away...

379C2D72-0278-485A-9342-76CA0813F17A.jpeg

’The Dragons’ which were inspired by the movie ‘How to Train Your Dragon’. Our family loves that movie!

29331111-AF71-4C2C-AF7E-0012EF1F8BC4.jpeg

She didn’t name this one but it’s inspired by her desire to have a dog one day. If we ever get one it will have to be hypoallergenic because of her allergies.

B903A1D2-919F-4846-9F66-ECA9FF6C63BC.jpeg

Our Teaching

We are so proud of our daughter. Seeing how brave and bold she’s been to sell her drawings to family and friends of the family has been a real treat. She struggles with her confidence in certain aspects so to see her motivated and driven gets us excited.

We don’t know what the Lord has in store for her. As a woman she may be single, she may get married and be able to stay at home with her children (she told me she wants to just as I have). Either way we want to encourage her to be able to accomplish what she puts her mind to. We want her and all of our children to be able to have skills that could make them a living and/or support their families. So if we see interests or natural skills we will help to hone them so that they can be masters of them over time.

We are currently teaching them about being smart with their finances. They are learning how to save, spend wisely and give according to their hearts. My daughter decided to do this so she can have more money to do such things. We didn’t want to wait until they were teenagers to start teaching them about money, it needs to start now for better understanding and practice.

She decided to give her drawing business the name Daisy Arts named after her favorite doll Daisy. I later found out that this name is already used by another organization. We will work on another name or put a spin on this one so that it can be original just in case she decides to further persue this venture.

A500F1B2-70B1-4892-9680-CE25337BEB64.png

Thank you so much for reading!

All photos are of my daughter’s drawings and were taken by my iPhone!

07627395-424B-4E0E-8C0E-4B51A07333E2.gif

1AE066F7-03CD-44C0-B4BE-6C74C0DEAE7E.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Oh my, you should be so proud of your sweet daughter. What an amazing example you set for her. An entrepreneur at 8! (quite the negotiator too I see :) ) He art is darling, such imagination, color and stories she tells. God has great things planned for her! This will be fun to watch. Great job mom!

Thank you so much! We are really proud of her! Ha oh yes she negotiates pretty well! Awww thanks so much, I’ll pass along the message to her. We believe God has great things in store for her too. ☺️

I told my daughters about your story when I went home for lunch. My 2nd daughter (@SunRae) has posted some of her artwork on the Steem blockchain. I think she could sell her work as well, but she does not have the heart of a sales women (yet).

Keep growing that Entrepreneurial spirit in your daughter!

Awww I like her art too! She could definitely sell hers! Maybe soon it will come and she’ll be ready to ;)

Thanks so much, we will :D

It would be awesome if all five of our kids come up with a business together one day, that’s one of my dreams to see. 😊

What a delightful post to read your daughter is off to a great start with her art business and yes I bet she planned out starting it when family were about to visit ;)

Thanks so much for your support! She is excited to see her work on here and all of the encouraging comments ;)

Thats great hopefully it will inspire her to keep it going :)

This is so great, I love to hear this type of thing with kids-especially girls.

I didn't bother to ask my parents for permission to sell my art or creative services when I was 10 - I just went and did it, lol! and it started a career which I still do today 22 years later as a freelancer and multimedia artist.

Clearly your kid has great potential to be successful in whatever it is she chooses to pursue, and I wish her the best! I hope my two girls have that same tenacity one day, too!

Thanks so much! Ha that’s so funny, you just went for it and look how great you’re doing now. Your artwork is amazing! This is very encouraging and inspirational, thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I will pass on this inspiration to her :D

I’m sure your girls will just from watching their mommy ;)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 333 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Very cleverly done
She must be very happy with all the money she colleted
And you got a special mama price too
<3

Thank you! Oh yes she is very pleased and excited! Lol nothing like a mama discount :D

Such a sweet post to read! Congratulations for having such a wonderful girl!

Thank you so much ~ 😊

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 373 (01/17/19)

Hello @crosheille, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49