Spot of the day - The Vigeland Installation - One man's artistic obsession | Madness or genius?

in #art7 years ago


One of the odd/bizarre but really interesting things I came across in Oslo was the Vigeland Installation In Frogner Park. This place represents Gustav Vigeland's lifetime obsession to the artistic representation of the human form.

This installation is composed of more than 200 sculptures by Gustav Vigeland (1869–1943) in bronze, granite and cast iron (VisitOslo).

I took these shots with my Nikon D700 and a Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED lens this last Saturday.

Hard to answer to whether or not this is madness or genius if you ask me but the place and the sculptures are quite intriguing. It is known to be the world largest sculpture park made by a single artist.





The Monolith (Monolitten)







The Angry Boy (Sinnataggen in Norwegian)



Hope you like the post and please let me know what you think about the images and this intriguing place. I really like feedback... Have you been there yourself?

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

Woww, Your painting is great and I like to see your posts, I also hope we can give each other encouragement and motivation. Something good you've given to all the friends at steemit. Follow me because i will follow you...! @creutzy

Not so sure about which painting you are referring to...but I am still glad if you did like my posts, thank you! Not a fan of the follow to follow idea though. I like to choose for myself who to follow rather than be told to.

you're right
I really like your post. it's true

This is wonderfull!! Upped :D

Many thanks! I am glad you liked it!

Thanks for sharing this good picture

My pleasure! :)

Definitely madness. Those sculptures are few of the most disturbed I've seen in my life. Then again, genius applies as well because all big artists are geniuses so...

Oh I know if this from Jo Nesbo's crime novels and it is so great to see your photos of it!!

Thanks for the visit! I am pleased to hear you liked the post! It is indeed an interesting place. Not sure what Jo Nesbo might have written about this place but I think he's from around there.

I think it used as a crerpy night time meeting place with the detective and the killer. He described it well, because I recognized it when I saw your pictures.

Interesting post (and nice photos). On the issue of genius vs madness, I would try to take one's own personal reaction to the work out of the picture and think more about labels, especially when it comes to mental health. I don't intend to sound angry, judgemental, nor pretentious in any way when I bring this up, but it seems to me that a societal theme that transcends many cultures and time itself has been to call someone "mad" if their method or end product is in any way offensive or distasteful, yet praise their "genius" or "brilliance" if they've accomplished something beautiful or beneficial.
It's an issue that's honestly very close to home for me, so I won't go on and on about it (at least now) but again, good post. Voted and followed.

Many thanks for the thoughtful comment and I am glad to have you "on-board"! :) I mostly agree to your point of view on this issue. I try not to judge much when it comes to it as I know that my thoughts on it would be very personal and subjective whilst art means different things to different people. In the the end just because I don't understand something, or care about it enough to try to, doesn't necessarily mean that there isn't a point behind it or that it has no value. It wasn't really my intention to pass any judgement on whether or not the artist is a madman or a genius. Not that that could be easily debated either. As you say, these things pass through a societal filter... But then for all we know the two notions might actually be synonymous.

In my opinion I have to say that I find genius in all that madness! I don't believe that one word is enough to describe that art!

Well said! I for one, think that those words could easily be viewed synonyms. Also, yeah, can't really put it all under one tag or a word. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44