You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three materials - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When was this? And where? It looks really great @ammonite. Thanks for sharing. I've never seen a sand sculpture like this until now. Usually they are very classic or realistic, but not to this level of abstraction and intricacy. Really grateful for people like you with such an amazing talent.

Sort:  

Thank you, I've been working with sand for over twenty years and really enjoy to try and not make traditional sculptures. It is a great material for experimenting with and very fast to see your ideas realised. Also the fact that it doesn't last forever means you can be much more playful. With my posts here on steemit I am documenting all of my sculptures working my way through the years. This one is from 2000 and there are alot more to come as well as my ice and snow sculptures. Thanks again for commenting.

Yes, I can tell that you are very experienced with sand sculptures @ammonite. I love that your are documenting and also sharing your work with us, such an honor and a privilege. This way, it will never get lost thanks to the blockchain. How do you deal with the ephemeral nature of your sculpting material? Was there ever a sculpture that you wanted to preserve for longer than usual? I'm curious.

The ephemerality is one of the things that attracts me to working in materials like sand. Knowing my work can not be owned except in the eye and mind of beholder is very liberating. Once I finish a sculpture it is like all of the creative energy is in the piece and I can somehow disconnect from it. There have been one or two sculptures that I would have liked to keep but in general I can only see the mistakes I made. That said, I have experimented with taking molds and also used elements of some in other more permanent sculptures. Thanks for you question.

Oh interesting @ammonite. Yes, I think a lot of artists ponder on the opposition of creation/destruction and permanence and impermanence. I really love ephemeral art, sustainable art and the duality of creation/destruction. I find that the artists I admire the most do this kind of artwork. Art is all about how we experience it and I love that. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me.

Nothing lasts forever and at least with this kind of work i know when it will be gone, Thank you again .I am always happy to interact in the comments of my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42