The importance of love

in #art4 years ago

During times of distress we often try to reach out to our loved ones. Talking with someone that you know that cares about you makes a huge difference for your well being. I think that it's important to have meaningful connections. Not many. Just a few, but quality ones. I see no point in having many friends if at 3 A.M. you can't call neither of them if you're feeling down. I strongly believe that you don't need to meet everyday with someone just to make sure they care about you. I have friends that I can only talk to once a month or see them once a year because they are far away, but I am sure they would help me if I would need something.

image.png

In the matters of love I hold onto the same principle. You don't have to struggle to keep quality people around you. The right person will stand by your side during highs and lows. Now, with this virus, a lot of people begin to realise the importance of having quality relationships. You can't buy love, respect, connection, kindness. Stripped down to our basic vulnerabilities, closed into our homes, we no longer have a place to hide from ourselves and from others. We get down to basics: talking, spending times with a loved one, appreciating the little things.
When I started to draw this pointillism drawing a year ago I was thinking about the neverending dilemma most of us have: search for love or accept solitude?

image.png

image.png

I love to draw with dots. I love ink and I love my rotring isograph. This took me quite a while to finish it. At first I only wanted to keep the sign with keep calm and stay single, but at the end of it, I told to myself: let's add a bit of hope and doubt. And I added "or not?". Because I know that deep down, even the ones completely convinced that they can live alone....secretely....they long for love, connection, emotion. Nobody would proudly and bravely embrace loneliness. Solitude is a very sad friend.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Uploading image #7...

Uploading image #8...

I felt very proud after I finished this piece , it made all the long hours of stippling dot by dot worth it. This year in february I decided to try to sell my original art through etsy. It's been a month and so and it's difficult. I think that my timing was off, nobody would buy art during a pandemic. But I try to remain hopeful and persevere. It's quite hard to sell art when nobody knows you in this art industry, but it costs nothing to try. Just a couple of bucks to keep the online store running. Check it out if you want it, it makes my day to see that at least 2-3 people visited my store:))))

https://www.etsy.com/listing/759406872/original-pointillism-dog-portrait?ref=shop_home_active_58&frs=1

I was thinking if I should sell prints , it would be more affordable for people to buy them, but at the moment, I decided to not pursue more because I am not very familiar with selling prints. I barely made courage to price my art and start selling:))) My drawings are my babies, I am very attached to them. Some drawings are quite old and I keep them close to my heart.

Uploading image #9...

Uploading image #10...

Uploading image #11...

So as you can see, love is a word that covers a vast array of emotions. Love can mean hope, attachment, adventure, freedom, creation etc. We can love so many things and still be able to find new ones to fall in love with again.

I have an ASMR channel where I talk about my drawings and where I read articles from my blog, feel free to check it out if you need a calming voice to make you fall asleep:))))

Here I read an article from my blog

Have a great day in isolation and love each other, no matter where you are! Toodlee loo!

P.S. If you want you can support me on my patreon , I just started this , quite new, but I shall persevere. Check it out if you have time in your quarantine days:)) My stippling process with this drawing step by step here
https://www.patreon.com/posts/drawing-frenchie-35465330

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29