Mission Statement:

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemit,
I would like to share part of a conversation I had online with another in my network, with some interesting talking points I'd like to later elaborate on. Dig this:

Postism, is art for a new century, not a continuation of last century trends.

  1. Mass Market Paintings like Prints. When any art form is mass marketed it enters a golden age. This has happened with books, records, and film. Let's add paintings. Most art is in museum basements. Mass Marketing allows art to tour in copies and allows artists to make royalties on copies.
    Why do you think the world gets so excited about a new great book, record, or film; but no one cares about a new great painting? All are mass produced except the painting.

  2. End a Century of Isms. Dump the genres and formulas and let all kinds of art be a part of the art world.

  3. Shift Emphasis From Trendy to Quality. Shift emphasis from the latest trendy art, to quality art in any style. Just because art is weird does not mean it is great art.

  4. Free the Art From Museums and Galleries. Get the art out of the ivory elitist museum and gallery towers and back into the world. Have city art centers open to all artists. Make art that is relevant and communicates with people. Start with the first generation of artists online.

  5. Postism is Part of a Bigger Revolution. Postism is part of the bigger art and media revolution out of Dallas, that includes art, music, lit, film, media, and a lot more.

  6. Postism online: Online artists are the new wave of art. We had all the isms of last century. Now we have a free for all, of all kinds of artists, that are not sanctioned by any museum or gallery, displaying their work. Out of that comes the next wave and revolution of artists.

Last century the goal was to fit the ism. This century the goal is to do great art – no ism, no boundaries. Fractionalized art then, synchronized art now. Even calling something modern art is a type of ism that separates that art from the art of the past. The 20th century was a century of experimentation in art. Now in the 21st we can choose from all those styles and / or start one of our own. Then too if someone devises a way to charge and collect a penny per view on a webpage, that would allow any great artist to get money for their art and have a career without any middlemen.

~Tom Hendricks

I agree the internet has opened a myriad of ways any given artist can create their own success, if one's determined to succeed. Steemit and many other social network platforms are just one of many real and virtual realms artists can co-create with engineers, technicians, and other visualists. It provides incredible opportunity to everyone involved, for both the artist and audience. However, I believe the mission statement is all but one way to declare identity, also it is a way to level the field between the creator and the collective. Here are my declarations:

  1. It's with my art I make a living; I don't just make art.
  2. I aim to inspire; I don’t need nor have to use sleazy sales tactics.
  3. I plan for success; I'm not just dreaming of success.
  4. I am part of a supportive savvy community; I'm don't waste my time or energy to compete with other artists.
  5. I get paid upfront; i don't discount my art.
  6. I serve a niche that seeks out my work for its skill and style; I don't enter art contests or ever work for free.
  7. My “product” is emotion; my goods and services are a tool extension to inspire who purchase into my art.
  8. My art is what builds my businesses; I'm not trying to "become an artist". I am a born artist-entrepreneur.

💯

Many working artists who create their own success possess certain character traits apart from purely skill that set themselves up for winning the market game. A successful artist is passionate, savvy, and gifted in ways of seeing the world differently. The artist's mission statement provides purpose to the "why" an artist creates the art that they do, as well as allows the appreciator an opportunity to connect with the artist through the art.

Why do you create?

  • C.H

Click here to become a patron subscriber today and get my original art, signature merch, and other exclusive content every month! (on Patreon):

2017PatreonTIERTITLEBanner.jpg

Visit www.artistcraigahamilton.com to learn more.

FlipHTMLBanner1200x160.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95