From a Shipping Crate to an Outhouse

in #art8 years ago

I want to share this fun little project with you and the Steemit community.

I came across this wooden shipping crate from a local business. I knew it would have a practical use, so I snagged it.

It didn't take me long to realize it would be perfect for an outhouse, with about 6 1/2 feet of interior head room. I added structural support inside and outside. I ran 110 electrical wiring with one outlet, insulated the walls and ceiling, and clad the exterior in Tyvek house wrap and salvaged barn metal.

I built a locking door from salvaged materials, installed a vent and a window with insect screen that opens for fresh air. I built the toilet, painted the walls, built a Corian solid surface countertop, and installed laminate flooring and oak trim.

It is extremely heavy, but moveable with a trailer. For my October hayride parties I place a small heater inside, and it is the most popular place to stay warm, second to the bonfire!

Sort:  

Awesome thank you for sharing this! :) i followed you perhaps u look at my blog and u find some graffiti that u like! <3 kalipo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95