How to make a quick 20 min sketch / Step by step tutorial

in #art6 years ago

11CA24EA-6242-4591-BF65-7396F78DD787.jpeg

Hello fellow Steemians!

This is my quick sketch that I made during my morning coffee before going to work. I try to use all my free time to get better in drawing, so morning coffee is a great time for it.

I decided to make a small tutorial for you guys and a couple of hints that might be obvious for many, but can help beginners.

I think I will post some more tutorials later, but for this first one I tried to make it simple. This time this is a girl standing side-on to her whole height which is easier to draw than any other positions.

Let’s start then!

I omitted the very first step when I drew axes. So what you see in the first picture is the main shape of the whole body, including approximate lines of clothes. Don’t be afraid to draw several approximate lines if you are not sure, it will help you to determine proportions properly.

F7E178AC-C44B-4642-8763-3F3AF7F17732.jpeg

When you see the approximate shape, you can start making distinct and exact lines outlining the body and clothes, as well as draw wrinkles of the clothes.

73C9BDC0-89D2-4A7F-A467-FD8EA8743A7B.jpeg

Do not make the body completely straight. Remember that the spine has natural curvature, and in this case, the girl is slightly bending her head as she is staring at her phone. Watch the legs, they are not just straight too!

The third stage is shading. Since it is a quick 20 minute sketch and by this stage I almost ran out of coffee, I am applying main shades and I don’t care about smooth lines and realism. Ever. Almost. Joking:) I still care about the degree of darkness and use bold dark stokes and light strokes.

5D54C1A0-A453-4D15-B548-8C3B65E32C8F.jpeg

Don’t be afraid to make quick sketches when you don’t have much time. The more you practice – the more you improve your skill.

That’s the end of drawing with @cookiespooky for today!

Hope this was helpful and you liked it!

Cheers!

Sort:  

@cookiespooky Your tutorial is pretty cool. I really like the style of your narrating. Would love to participate in the drawing challenges...Keep posting!

Thank you, @satishart! There will be more:)

What a good explanation, step by step. I like drawing, I will practice. the result is fabulous

Thanks, @mariu! Practice is our everything:)

Nice! I found you from your discord post. Following now

Cool! Discord works lol
Thank you!

Love this - I love the actual sketch and the explanation is really helpful too. I really want to start drawing people. :)

Thanks! I’m glad that it helps!

Very nice tutorial !!

I really like that one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59