Urban Landscape I

in #art5 years ago

Urban Landscape I


Painting Landscapes is something relatively new for me, although I have tried it in some oil paintings, I had never painted a landscape with colored pencils. Personally, I am a fan of the paintings of Urban Landscapes, which represent cities around the world, these works make me feel as if I traveled the world, that type of paintings transport you to magnificent places, and the best way to do justice to that feeling was replicating a beautiful work in oil that I found here on Pinterest, this little work is done in a smaller format than I'm used to, however it seems to me a quite comfortable format, without more, here the process.

100_6384.JPG


The Process

To begin, I made the sketch with a 2H pencil, without many details since the intention was to give shape to the work with colors, I started painting the building on the left, with colors Siena, Yellow, Gray, Black, Orange, White, Terracotta and Blue, trying to give that characteristic essence of the oil paintings, some areas of the walls had a slight touch of blue in the areas of illuminations.

100_6171.JPG
100_6194.JPG


Illuminations and reflections are the details that I like most in this type of work, that's why the paintings of Urban Landscapes are so beautiful, this kind of details are a bit complicated to work with, and more if you use Pencils of colors. In This work reflects a rainy afternoon in a city, wet streets reflect the lights of buildings, cars and street lighting, besides some shadows.

100_6197.JPG
100_6198.JPG


The Latest Details

To finish, I painted the last areas of strong lighting in the center of the work, with White, Cream and Yellow, then continued with the buildings on the right which contained less detail, and to finish the cars on the right and the respective reflections on the road accompanied by some shadows to highlight the colors.

100_6379.JPG


The Finished Artwork

100_6384.JPG


“There is peace even in the storm”

Vincent van Gogh


Leaving a bit of the subject...

Listen to this song

Sort:  

Beautiful art work. I'm not an artist, but it's said that beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. This is beautiful.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful rendition of this artwork, I think you've done really well. I'm glad also that you showed us the source of this lovely painting :).
                   
Congratulations for getting a curie vote ^_^.

Great work! I love that you are trying other subjects instead of just portraits. Really like the look that this one gets from the pencils. Keep up the great work.

wow this is 100% talent! you must be proud of your art work, I love the yellow lights and the wet look of the streets

🎉 Congratulations @connor-russo! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

Gorgeous piece, @connor-russo ! The feelings and moods of the city are captured so well in this piece <3 I love the rainy ambiance and I love the step by step presentation, also <3 Beautiful work !

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!! :3

I like your approach to drawing far away places,

these works make me feel as if I traveled the world

A professor adviced me once to copy essays or stories by celebrated writers as a way to practice rhetorical strategies and style. A sort of mimmicking that works as a choreaography to "learn the steps".
You did a great job capturing the atmosphere. We can almost feel the temperature and the humidity of the place.

Hello @connor-russo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi connor-russo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21