Five Reasons "Stranger Things" Is The Best TV Show Of 2016

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Imagine, if you will, Steven Spielberg has sex with a Moog Synthesizer, and it gets pregnant. Nine sine waves later Stephanie Spielmoog is born. She grows up watching 80s movies and goes on to become a director. This is the kinda thing she would make. Let me explain ...


1 - It’s weird as Hell.

Combining eerie synth music with an intense sense of bourgeois suburbia, the Duffer Brothers have created the perfect storm; A town so sheltered and introspective that bizarre supernatural events are the last thing anyone would expect. And bizarre it certainly is. No hard science here, but you won't care. It's a wonderfully far fetched mindfuck.


2 - It’s all your favourite 80s movies and TV shows put together

Think: The Goonies meets Stand By Me meets Twin Peaks.
Sprinkle with some E.T, and maybe even a little Akira!
This is pure, unadulterated homage, and it's perfect.


3 - Every single frame looks like a carefully considered photograph

Photographers and cinematography nerds will be blown away by the sheer beauty in every shot, in every scene. Stranger Things is a visual masterpiece. A gift to the craft of cinematography.


4 - The Characters Are Brilliant

The casting is perfect, hitting no bum notes through dozens of characters. Even the secondary characters have dept and believability. In saying that, one character in particular deserves a special mention ....


5 - Eleven

Number five is Eleven. I mean, the character, "Eleven". Playing the part of mystery girl, Eleven, Millie Bobby Brown goes beyond intense, beyond venerable, beyond mysterious, at every turn. This is a kid taking on the most bizarre role imaginable, and nailing it. We have parallel dimensions, government conspiracies, strange beings and unexplained deaths, yet it's the little girl with the shaved head that steals the show.


Watch the trailer ..


Have you watched Stranger Things?

Are you hoping for a second season?

Sort:  

Stranger thing surely is a wonder
I saw not a single blunder
It sang to my soul to see the dungeons and dragons
Reminding my of my many dwarves and their flagons

I came from which this show was set
Depending on gender it made me wet
This series is so artful and good
While I watched I did not sit I stood

They've surely left it open for more
And adventures await us through that door

Just saw that show, and it was sooo good. The girl that played Eleven was such an exceptional actress. And yeah, hoping for a second season.

In the past month I just can't STFU about Steemit and Stranger Things. My friends think I've lost my mind altogether.

Haha, that sounds perfectly normal if you ask me!

steemit is the stragest of things...

I'm going to stick with Mr.Robot ;)

Wow you haven't seen season 1 yet? Lucky you!

If you're an IT guy and/or anarchist you're going to have a permanent boner throughout the series ;)

I love mr robot but I won't subscribe to TV. Not paying Amazon 2 bucks an episode so right now Stranger things has me hooked. Great post btw.

Cheers! Just started Mr Robot and so far it's very good.

I have to admit that I was on the fence about giving this show a shot. This was an excellent write up and it has piqued my curiosity enough that I plan on watching the first episode tonight. Thanks for your input! (Unless I end up hating the show, in which case, curse you)

Please come back and let us know what you think?

Great show, i was a little hesitant when it showed mostly kids doing game playing with demagorgans,lol..but thought i would keep the faith and keep watching, turns out it is actually really, good . Got some nice twists and keeps you on your toes a bit. Look forward to next season.

Stephanie Spielmoog
or Syntia Moogberg

Havent seen the show. Thank you posting about it!

OK Syntia Moogberg is way better than my idea lol. Damn you.

Instead of tagging this with music you could have tagged this post as an tv-review or something similar (not sure if there is one yet, feel free to come up with better one), you could be building up a new subcategory, inviting more critics to tell us about their view on what show to look or not when we log on to netflix.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54