Beach Wednesday - Twilight Mermaid

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Alt model Steph offered to buy me a Thai dinner in exchange for shooting her in a swimsuit. Oh go on then.


Portmarnock beach, Dublin. Unusually warm weather, as the sun tickled the horizon, it felt like we could be in Tenerife. The beach was empty and the wind had died down.

The first shot I used the NIkon 28mm and the other two, the Sigma 85mm 1.4 as far as I can remember. Changing lens on the beach probably isn't the brightest idea, but needs must.

This was lit with one of my experimental DIY softboxes. Essentially a frosted transparent storage crate with an adapter to hold the flash in place. It was perfect for this scenario because it cost nothing and it didn't matter that it got drenched in water and covered in sand. Actually, we both got covered in water and sand but dang if it wasn't the most fun I've had in a long time.

zxzxzxzxz.JPG

cdcdcdcdc.JPG

3333333.JPG


Nikon D750. Godox X1/TT685

Sort:  

I'm so glad your work is in my feed now @condra, lol Upvoted!

Thanks so much. I'm a fan of your work so it's great to connect!

Excellent capture. How much was the meal?

Haha what a question! I think the bill came to about 35 euro for the two of us. Camile is not the fanciest restaurant in Dublin, but the food is fantastic.

Just trying to make you laugh. Hope it helps :)

Beautiful! I love these shots! Oh my goodness if I ever got in front of your lenses.. <3

Cheers Jamie! I've seen what you can do in front of a camera. I might be traumatized!
;)

Oh I'm sure you've seen more intense and scary things through your viewfinder. At least I'm a beautiful accident <3

OK next time you're in Ireland, hit me up.

I'm holding you to this. See you when I see you, wonder photog <3

This is the first time I've seen your work, condra, and I'm very impressed. That opening pic especially came across to me with an apocalyptic vibe.

On first sight I saw the landscape as a desert and the model as the last woman on earth, slightly parting those succulent cheeks and saying, "Come, let us breed and start a new world!" LOL

That's a whole new spin I hadn't thought of. But I like it.

mwahhah.gif

oooooo...alt girls! Those are the sexual unicorns you hold onto!

That's them alright. They're handy to have around.

Superb lighting mate.
Great job master yoda

Thank you Tomekkk! I was gonna say "I used the force", but that might sound inappropriate hehe

Wow thats the best trade ever lol
great pictures.

Thanks Mark. Yeah the food was pretty good too. I would like to have more evenings like that but usually I spend my evenings with Photoshop, my dog, and caffeine.

Was the lighting like that or mostly after effects? Really good photos, both subject and scenery. Ripples in sand are really cool

The ambient light as you see it in the background was exactly like that. One of those lucky evenings where the sky is glowing peachy amber. The light on her was a mixture of that ambient light, blended with the flash in the softbox. Cheers.

Thats truly beautiful, keep up the great work. I look forward to seeing more of your work. Fallowed!

Nice work if you can get it.

LOL. Cheers. Following you :)

Hey man, with work like this I'M following YOU!

Great pictures, well shot. Perfect evening tonight in Ireland for it! 😀

Thanks a million. Yeah I absolutely love warm summer nights.

Summer really is when Ireland shines

"I mean I guess if I have to take pictures of beautiful women in swimsuits I might as well get dinner out of it..."

Honestly, it was a one off. Usually my dinner comes from the drive-thru, and I'm on the beach alone, with no friends, crying as I contemplate my insignificance, next to the angry sea.

That's an easy perspective shift away from changing your realty! You have already seen what you can do, so who are you not to do it? If I were you, my current life motto would be "who am I not to be photographing beautiful women on a beach for food every day?" If that's what you're passionate about of course!

My therapist said something similar to me today, I shit you not. Thanks for the encouragement.

I've...basically done this myself. The feels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79