Handmade Round Plate With Square Center

in #art7 years ago

Hello steemit community! Today I will present you one of my favourite plate designs. It's a round flat plate made of clay, with an open square in the middle. The square is framed by copper. Sometimes, I write poems on it. The plate is made to hang on the wall and sometimes it is adorned by small decorations.


IMG_20160418_160721.jpg


The round shape represents the cycle of life. It's like the circular universe we live in, like a big hug. A curved shape is soft, calm and peaceful, without strict frames, like our free spirit.

I like to draw many lines on the outside that form circles too. The border is not strictly defined. Each one is like a circle inside another circle, like a hug inside the earth, the earth inside the solar system, the solar system inside a round universe.


IMG_20151031_131827.jpg


As you will notice, the circles are not well defined. Also some lines intersect the circles in four points. These intersections represent an initial doubt of the roundness, the non continuous flow of our perception. This square that hides in the circle is the logical part of our mind framing the full emotional expression that the circle represents.

The square repeats again in the center. This time it is clearly outlined. The small square is our logic, our rational objectives. If we have an emotional freedom without logic, it can lead us to miss objectives. The copper frame focuses the eye on that square.


20170625_142432.jpg

I like to choose poems that are related to the philosophy of the designs. The poem on the first plate says that even if serenity is spread everywhere, restlessness does not cease to exist. The poem on the second plate says that the sun with its axis was inside the poet calling with its rays.

For my art, I like to use materials of my country. Clay is a traditional material of Cyprus. Copper was so abundant and popular that it is where Cyprus got its name from. I hope you like my art. Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Looks aged and authentic. I like it! :)

Thank you. I like to make them look aged, like traditional artwork :)

Amazing art, @colourandclay! Very unique style!

excellent work. You should make these into a series.

Thank you. I'm thinking to make a series with a different design in each post.

Very beautiful objects! (resteemed for you, and followed)

Thanks a lot! I followed you too!

What a nice art and historic product. Thanks for sharing

Thank you. Only now I saw your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63