Shapeshifter-The Art of Family Tragedy & How to be Amazing Anyway

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello!
I put together a art installation show combining family artifacts, paintings & collage to tell a story of the tragic death of my Aunt Susan in 1968. I wanted to share the senseless death of a 11 year old girl on a Girl Scout outing. She was a passenger in a car that crashed. She did not receive the proper care & died from injuries that could have been treated. The aftermath of her death lead to sorrow, depression & addiction.
This incident shaped the life of my Grandmother, Mother, myself & my daughter.
There was a gurney installation with flowers that wilted away as the show progressed through the month. (see photo). There was also a wall installation with flowers, hospital receipt for the day, school work by Susan, her dress & photos. The collage porting of the show shows the darker side including a self portrait collage with a letter from my Grandma to me:

A girl who does not dress or groom like others is
Insecure, has low self esteem.
Needs parental guidance, strict
Mother not in control, non-assertive
Doesn't know what's inside is more important that looking like a slut, tramp
Trying to hide behind goofy clothes & dyed hair
Not a leader for friends to look up to or seek to be with
Daughter & mother need ambition

a girl who doesnt.jpg
A Girl Who Doesn't- Self portrait Gma would not approve of, A letter from Gma, vintage cards, ribbon, locust wings, resin, very old frame

Susan Wall Install.JPG
Wall detail- After the accident my Grandmother fought to change laws about carpools & no-fault car insurance. You can see her handmade sign on this wall with photos & string art by Susan 1968.

Shapeshifter Show The Gourney.jpg
The Gurney- installation w/ flowers, bones, horse hair

APK Shapeshifter Installation.jpg
Detail of wall installation

APK shapeshifter.jpg
Wall detail- Susan's dress & photo of her in the dress

Shapeshifter - The Art of Family Tragedy and How to Be Amazing Anyway from Modlab.tv on Vimeo.

A video about the show because, I am embarrassed to say, I did not document the show as best I could & it sold out. That is amazing & I am grateful however, everything went home to new owners & I should have had the show travel to other galleries in surrounding area. My friend at Modlab.tv did a great job putting this quick project together. My voice is annoying & I could have run through it a couple times to get it right rather then one shot. At the show I had loops playing of Susan singing an Eartha Kitt song at the Fair the summer before her death, you can hear it in the beginning of the video.

The painting part of the show was about getting through the pain, sadness & addiction that life often brings. Everyone has a story & pain to get through. When we heal ourselves we can help others heal. We can turn around difficult times to be beneficial to helping us help others get through their difficult times. Be the magic! The paintings were about loving yourself , having humility, being kind & taking care of your unique & brilliant self. Susan would not have wanted to be remembered in such a sad way. She was a vibrant, sweet child. I wanted to celebrate that & break the cycle of blaming her death for my family's darkness. I would much rather make more art than write about it.. I hope this combo of words, video & photos gives you a little idea of this show.

APK Kick Your Innner Ass.jpg
Kick your Inner Ass-(meaning be nice to yourself & others, life is to short to be scared and mean) Acrylic on wood

altar.JPG
Altar- Acrylic & chalk on wood (meaning create your personal, empowering altar to focus your intentions)

Thank you so much for checking out the story of an art show.

Amy

condolence.jpg
Condolence- photo of x-ray of a mummy, sympathy cards, antique papers, ball chain, resin

Sort:  

Congratulations @colormecalamity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great show. I really enjoyed it.

Thank you for taking time to check it @bardionson. Have a great night!

Amy, this still gives me goosebumps! It almost renders me speechless, as deeply moving experiences have the power to do
<3

Bravo!

Thank you Darling. It means so much. I am so delighted to be able to tell her story.

I wish there was something I could do to get you more views (exposure), it just takes time and all that, your work and exhibitions are so great and should be SEEN my more peeps.

haha! It is quite alright. You had let me know it takes time & you had great poetry in the beginning too. Your poetry continues to enchant. I wish I could have been there to play the other night.

We will have some good creative fun (again) in the future. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95