mixed media collage! ghosts in paper.

in #art6 years ago

Watson.jpg

This piece was commissioned by a friend, photographer & Boston Terrier lover. I used an old dresser mirror frame & filled it with antique papers, a photo of his wife, teeth, a chicken foot & various other items from my collection.
The very backing is a page from an 1800's atlas.

Diamond.jpg

This piece was commissioned by the photographers friend who requested a nod toward 'creepy clowns' in his piece. I used another antique dresser mirror frame, antique papers, a wasp nest, a pigeon foot, butterfly wings, a parakeet wing and other items. I had found a couple resin scorpions at a thrift store so each piece got a scorpion!
It was really fun to work on these two together & I am happy with them. These are the kind of pieces where you find something new each time you look at them, I get to hide images & words in layers.
I adore antique letters, journals, ephemera...there are ghosts within & I like to think I let them out in some of my art.
It is also great fun collecting the treasures I use in my collage work. I have made custom collage for clients who have lovely antique scraps & photos they do not know what to do with but do not want to toss out. If you have a need for such work we can discuss a project.

thank you for visiting!

Amy

Sort:  

I love the frames and compositions! Lots of cool little details. Nice work!

Me too! Easy to repair if they are falling apart & so much soul / character.
Thank you very much.

Oh gurl....more gorgeousness!

Your collages have always amazed me, truly there are layers upon layers.
Bravo. <3

Thank you, Lovely. You are an inspiration!

!originalworks

very lovely ! i like the design and the elements you've put together, amy! thoughtful and beautiful works :)

upvotes

Thank you, I appreciate you having a look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14