James Dean - Portrait Of A Rebel

in #art7 years ago

header.jpg

I was born 22 years after James Dean died in that horrific car crash. (Do the math and you'll know my age LOL). I grew up without knowing much about Hollywood but I had seen his pictures in some local magazines. There was something about his brooding look that truly captivated not just me but millions of angsty teenagers throughout the decades since he died. He was, after all, a cultural icon of the 20th century.

He was the archetypal disobedient and sullen angry young man, an iconoclastic non-conformist who would inspire bands and musicians such as Elvis, Bob Dylan, Morrissey, The Clash and John Lennon (who noted that without whom “The Beatles would never have existed”) and successive generations of actors such as Warren Beatty, Al Pacino, Johnny Depp, Brad Pitt and, most recently, James Franco. ~ shortlist.com

Jimmy's image might represent our turbulent teenage emotions and spirit but I think his movies (only 3 movies) and public persona do not necessarily equate to his real character. Regardless his devil-may-care attitude did represent what I went through as a teen.

Oh yes, I was a rebellious teen alright.

I left home at 13 to go to a boarding school. Some kids might find it tough adapting to life away from their parents but I relished by boarding school years. The 5 years I spent there were the best times of my life. I learned to break rules during those years.

  1. Roaming the school compound in the middle of the night
  2. Truancy
  3. Hanging out at the guys' dormitory which was strictly off limit for girls
  4. Thieving
  5. Drinking alcohol
  6. ...and many more mischievous behavior...

But I was a bright kid and managed to obtain an outstanding result for my form 5 national exam and later on secured a spot at a local university. And my rebellious spirit continued throughout my college years. I am not going to share about the things I did those days but in short, I wasn't your typical goody two shoes who studies all the time. Far from it.

I am not proud of the naughty things I did as a youth. But if I didn't take the risk and make mistakes no matter how stupids those things were, I wouldn't know. Many people would disagree with me but let me quote Jimmy:

Death can't be considered because, if you're afraid to die, there's no room in your life to make discoveries. Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today."

I know it sounds foolish, lack of good sense or normal prudence and foresight but what I am trying to say is this:

You can do whatever you want to do BUT before you go ahead please consider the consequences. If you think you are willing to take the risk and be responsible, go for it. If you are not willing to bear the risk and consequences, don't.

But having said that, do not let your fear hinders you from trying things out. Be prudent and cautious, yes, but do not mistake your fear as an excuse to not take chances in life.

Here are the progress photos of this portrait:

This is my first time sketching using water soluble graphite pencils (aff link) and I wasn't sure of the outcome. But it did turn out nicer than I anticipated. I think I found a new favorite medium! It's cheap and hassle-free. Other items I used:

  1. 300gsm cold pressed watercolor paper
  2. Daler Rowney perfix colorless fixative
  3. Pentel Arts Aquash water brush

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

The completed portrait...

final.jpg

Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this portrait?


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!


Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

so beautiful portrait!!! Really well done! The story of James Dean is really a sad story :(

Thank you @silviabeneforti . Yes it was a pity he didn't live long enough to enjoy his fame. I often wonder what kind of career he would have if he hadn't died.

Well researched post! Thank you for sharing your portrait.

Thank you! It's my pleasure to share it with other Steemians :)

Yeahhhss so cool!

Yes it is. Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment :)

Well written post and also very precise sketch of portrait. Thanks for sharing with us :)

Thank you @theia7 . I really appreciate your kind comment :)

waaaaaa....this is really good. You should do more portraits

James dean is so handsome and she could draw it out!
You should do more portraits +1 !!!

Thanks @zord189 . Ya you are right I should.

Beautiful! I mean the potrait.

James dean is so handsome. Nice art @coloringiship

Thank you! Yes he is very handsome and I have a crush on a dead guy older than my dad LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85