Dandelion Wall Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

dandelion wall art.jpg

 

Spring is finally here for certain parts of the world. This lovely season gave me the idea to paint a dandelion wall art on a piece of A4 watercolor paper. By the way, most of my art are painted on A4 cold-pressed watercolor paper. I do want to paint on bigger surfaces but space is an issue in my tiny apartment.

Anyway, dandelion is not a flower but a type of weed. It's quite pesky and the Ibans have a vulgar name for dandelion. We called it "bulu **** Inik Andan" which literally means Inik Andan (Andan's Grandma's) pubic hair. Good God, I can't believe I wrote that here but yeah, that's true! I didn't make it up LOL! I bet you learned something new today LOL!

Did you know that the word "dandelion" was developed in the 15th century? It was coined from the Latin words "dens lionis" that means lion's tooth. However, the French called it dent-de-lion, and thereafter adopted by the English as dandelion. The phrase remained to this day.

Dandelion symbolizes many things to different people but most commonly it symbolizes getting your dreams come true or surviving through all challenges and difficulties. To me it symbolizes a new beginning or hope for the future. When the seeds get blown in the wind they bring new life with them.

So here is my dandelion art in my signature style of bright colors. Here are the progress photos:


dandelion wall art

dandelion art


dandelion wall art

This dandelion wall art is available as printable in my Etsy shop. You can download the printable and print at home or at a print shop. It is available in four different paper dimensions - A3, A4, A5, and US letter size.

It's also available in my Redbubble shop here :)
dandelion home decor

Oh I almost forgot to mention that this painting was inspired by one of the coloring pages I created years ago. You can find that page in my Gumroad store.

More of my art posts here:

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://coloringiship.com/2019/03/25/dandelion-wall-art/
Sort:  

So pretty ! I love the composition and the colours very much ! The gradation of the sky is very lovely and the swaying grass is well painted, conveying the wind and the dandelions are wonderfully detailed, with its white stalks like a star burst :) So lovely!

Was this watercolour? Or acrylic? I have been learning watercolours and I don't know how to make those stark white line arts and detailing ....

Thank you for the kind words @veryspider :). Yes, it's watercolor. I used Sakura white pen to draw the line art. You can use acrylic or gouache paint to achieve the same effect :)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Awww I love it! Those colors are really pretty it looks nice

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78