You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Art? - Part 1 - Introduction

in #art7 years ago

Art is definitely subjective. I tend to consider anything genuine to be art. But concepts that are meant to challenge the norm, like a silent concerto don’t fit the bill for me. I tend to have a low threshold for “conceptual art”. If it looks or sounds like garbage, I am loathe to call it art.

Sort:  

Yes, and while I do agree art is subjective, I do think that there are some distinct properties of great works of art that have survived that speak more to what humanity needs or gets out of art. There's a lot of music out there that I can appreciate for what it is, but I may never choose to listen to it. Then there's stuff that doesn't seem to even be trying .

I agree completely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34