Original Art - Learning to paint glass - Studies on an old bottlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Studies on an old bottle - coloured pencil on A4 sheet

Learning to paint something that is transparent is as one might expect, is subtly difficult. When I first began to study art in evening classes, and strictly as a hobby, it was one of the tasks we were set as homework. I have dug up a few of my homework assignments, and here is one of my attempts in pencil. Because I am short sighted I normally work from photographs when trying to paint something from a model. In this case I worked from a photograph of an old bottle. 

The photograph I worked from. I used a digital editing program to brush out details from around the bottle, better enabling me to focus on the bottle itself.

As you can see, in the pencil drawing I am just focussing on the overall dimensions of the bottle as translated to A4, and giving an indication of the main highlights that would later be developed in the painted version. The drawing is a study in preparation and not intended to be used as more than a tool to concentrate attention.


ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through BOINC computations for science...

Sort:  

Nice one! I really love the technique you used, it looks so... Like it's air inside (sorry, english is not my native:))

Thanks for the complimentary comment. I will be posting another study of the same bottle, with a more "artistic" interpretation of the same old bottle.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.97 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01