The Lovers

in #art7 years ago

Oil on Canvas, 40cm x 30cm (about 12" x 16"), 2016

CodySeekins_The_Lovers_Web.jpg

This work is an original interpretation of the archetype of “The Lovers” from the major arcana of the Tarot tradition. It was built in participation with The Hive Gallery and Studios‘ Tarot 8 show in January, 2017.

In the image are the lovers, consisting of a love struck rabbit and a polymorphic being. Additional entities include a sun and a glittering rainbow Shiva Lingam.

The baby-faced sun and the general environment are created in the manner of the Teletubbies cosmology.

The lovers set upon a radiating surface akin to the game Twister, engaged in an intimate moment.

Whereas the bunny is entranced, even possessed by his affection, the other creature exists simultaneously in their physical play, as well as an introspective dissociation into various psychological forms–and opening its mouth wide, it prepares to consume the Shiva Linga which swims above the crown of the rabbit.

Sort:  

thats insane the sun lol

Ingie thanks lol

This is great stuff!

Glad you like it! Thank you!

Some days I search my feed to see if you've posted any art. This post and the other two are fantastic as usual.

The appreciation you give my work is really heartfelt. I'm honored that these manifest reflections of mine can have meaning and be enjoyed. Thanks again Vermillion!!!

You are very welcome and they should be appreciated! You're so talented!

WOW! I know I am going to sound like a broken record but wth. I do LOVE your creativity my friend! More-so with every piece!

Have you created a completed Tarot deck? If so, is it available for purchase?The imagery and intense energy is amazing....pure awesomeness!!

I'm really glad you can enjoy my process. I typically take a very long time to attend to each work. Although I have a fondness and history with the Tarot I doubt I'll ever have the time to produce a whole deck, to the degree of detail and reverence for the archetypes that I would want. That said, it is likely I'll revisit the Tarot again at some point for a small work or works. At this point I do have works available for print or purchase individually--perhaps at some point I'll be able to put together more of a compilation. Thanks again for the enthusiasm and for investing your interest in the works, it is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46