The Myth of the Starving Artist

in #art7 years ago

Over the years, I have had the pleasure of seeing some super creative people. We come in all shapes and sizes, some create paintings and some create solutions. Some building buildings and some create courses.

The artists that I really want to focus on are the classically trained and those that want to get their work “out there.” The myth that I want to shatter is of the Starving Artist. Do not allow this myth stop you from creating wealth!

First, and foremost – read this book:

How To Survive & Prosper As An Artist
By Caroll Michels

This amazing woman has been a career coach to thousands of artists. As an entrepreneur, I do my best to read almost every “How To” book because you never know where your next big idea is going to come from. This book has inspired me to use more of my “arty nature” in my business life.

Here is the biggest thing that I learned – Your portfolio needs to be ready at all times. As an artist, you should have your best work on a disk and your website. Sure, you can direct them to Steemit, but no curator is going to want to click open every single post you that you ever did. Worse yet, be careful when you commission work – make sure you get permission before placing a photo in your portfolio or online, you don’t own that work.

Here is a big one that many art schools are just beginning to teach – business skills. Like it or not, as an artist, you MUST be in sales, marketing, accounting, research, etc. You need these skills to succeed financially. I expand on these ideas over the coming weeks, but the short stick is – if you have never taken a business class or read a book about how to run a business…take a class or start reading.

You are Selling yourself and your work – it is essential that you understand this concept!!!

And the biggest trap of all – we have been raised to believe that money is the root of all evil. No – this notion is not only ridiculous, it has harmed our society. Poverty is a mind trap. Just as the starving artist myth is a trap. Money is gift that we can change the world with. If you want to grow and prosper, you have to believe that you are worthy of the money being given to you. It doesn’t matter if it is a grant or a commission, you need to respect the cash flow.

Appreciate your work and appreciate the money – If you art it, they will come.

Sort:  

I promise to keep posting tips along these lines and give good examples. You are all wonderful and deserve to thrive.

I strongly appreciate the agreement.

I even double that and strongly appreciate the appreciation! :D

well then I shall have to times my appreciation with infinity plust steemit to the moon, baby

hahahaha ok. you won, dear :) followed you!

right back at you.

Inspirational : )
I am not an artist, but I am wondering if the book could be of any value to me anyway. What's your take on it @clevercreator?

You are a business person... READ IT and just change the word from art to what ever it is you are selling.

You would like Business Model You as well

http://businessmodelyou.com/

Thanks @clevercreator. I will give them a read then ;)

Also, upvoted and followed :)

explicame a ver si entendí, ¿tú vas a públicar un libro para decir como emprender un negocio?

No. It is about a book that already exists. You should be able to find the translated version in your country.

y en internet lo han publicado... tú ya lo leiste...

No, I bought the book, but it may be available as an e-book. I own a ton of booooooks.

a qué te dedicas?,,, tú profesión u oficio diario

I am a writer and researcher. Everything from art to legal to business.

What do you do?

me dedico a la educación, soy docente de primaria pero actualmente estoy cumpliendo una función gerencial en educacion,,,

Much appreciation. I am trying my best to be a useful person to the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80