My Father's Art: Female Nudes Paintings

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello. Today I am going to resume a series of posts which I started last year.  

My father is an amateur sculptor/painter, who started these activities very late in life, after retirement. Today he's 84. We did not have an easy relationship throughout our lives: he was very focused on his career and eventually became a very senior civil servant. When I was young, I felt very different from him, so...things were complicated. 

His sculptures and paintings mean a lot to me because they helped me discover a hidden dimension of him. In a way, they helped us relate better to each other. 

Today I am showing you pictures of some female nudes paintings: one of his favourite subjects. 

The above one, strictly speaking, is not ordinary paint.   I understand that in the context of art, Highly Tactile means that the paint’s thickness and/or the use of solid, thick materials superposed to the paint makes the artwork a sort of hybrid between a standard 2-dimensional painting and a sculpture.  My father has made a few nice highly tactile works and the above one is a good example.

In the above painting, what strikes me are the red stockings.


These are very simple watercolor paintings. I think he made them in the early stages of his activity. I am no expert, but I suppose they are technically far from perfect. Nonetheless, I do like their simplicity.

Tell me if you like them - honestly :-)

Sort:  

What a wonderful way to honor the relationship with your father, Claudio, especially if it hasn't been an easy one.

Had to follow you. Not going to pass up on nude paintings of women. Plus I enjoy painting but habe not done so for twenty years. Need to try again so maybe this will inspire me.

I never understood when people say "I haven't done painting for * years". It's a joy!
When I tried once - I couldn't stop. :)
Does it mean you stopped LOVING painting?

Artistic erotica. Very good. Like # 2 and # 3. Thank you.

love this.Upvoted.If you can please resteem my introduction post.

Nice artwork. Upvoted. Thanks for sharing.

nice pic man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83