SKETCHBOOK SERIES | #1 | A look back into the art and poetry of a past self

in #art7 years ago (edited)

ddd.jpg

Hi hello hey!

11.png

In this series, we travel backwards through some of my older sketchbooks - words and scribbles that I had totally forgotten about.
You see, when I moved provinces, I found a whole load of old books I had used to express and communicate with myself.
I've brought them to the new house, and have just gotten my feet wet with the contents. It's extremely odd to look at journals from such a different time.

I hope you'll enjoy the random array of content --

11.png

This special little book has been through some rough times, evidently shown here.

SKETCHBOOK1.jpg

I actually remember going through it a few months after I had finished it, and threw out many pages over fears of having those memories haunt me. (I take drastic measures to ensure clean mind)

sketchbook2.jpg

I have an affinity for angles, lines and interesting vortices. If I could figure out the ancient math of "beauty," I would. But sadly, all I can do is draw and discover.


Here's the process one of my songs,

the lyrics and message often messily jotted down before the song is written.

sketchbook3.jpg

These are the lyrics!

VERSE 1
lookin' through the mirror
what else can I see?
funny shapes disappear
but I've got lots of company

VERSE 2
n' though I've felt despair
that's just what my brain tells me
when I really go to see what's there
it's just me and my family

CHORUS
We all play a music
just sounds differently,
but I reckon if we play together,
we can make a pretty good harmony

BRIDGE:
Ya there's something special,
about being together,
I'm not afraid to admit it
I'm addicted to love

VERSE 3
Cus all the moments I've spent alone
a bit of fun taught me a lot
this whole thing is just worthless
unless you got someone to share your thoughts

sketchbook4.jpg

A geometric sketch of a face! I quite like this one

sktch 5.png

I also seemed to be in a colorful mood some days, this is the beginning of one of my styles, simple vector shapes with interesting color codes.

sktch 4.jpg


11.png

This book was quite short compared the others I have coming up.

If you enjoy my art and music (creations/selections) you should consider re-steeming this, as it's the most influential way to support us artists on Steemit.

glacier 3.jpg

Sort:  

Nice work ! I liked the geometric sketch of face the most though ! It attracted my attention more ! What an artistic way to make it ! good luck with your next work .

Hey thanks! I think it's my favorite too. I'll be starting painting again this week after 3 months away from the canvas, watch this space!

I love getting a glimpse into your creative process through the different aspects of your work. You are a wonderful artist and writer

Thank you kind friend, that really does mean a lot. Much love to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24