Doctor Who (learn to draw with friends)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

 He's a doctor but no one knows his name, so they just call him The Doctor. Sure hope they at least checked his references.  As a new Steemit user I'm happy to see that there's an active community of artists here. This is my first drawing I've done for Steemit and I can't imagine it being my last.



 When I work from photos I usually start with a grid and outline the major features.


 I then remove the grid lines before filling in more detail and starting the shading.


 Switched to an 2H pencil for the lighter shading on the hands and face.


 And switch to a 4B pencil for the darker shading, like the Doctors coat.


 And finally I used a smudge stick to soften the 4B pencil shading and added in some final points of detail.


 I had a lot of fun with this and I'm looking forward to the next drawing challenge, thanks to @tonyr for setting it up.

@ckurtish

Sort:  

Wow! This is awesome! Great job @ckurtish! I love your process of using the grid lines - I'm going to keep that in mind for future drawing ventures :)

Thanks a lot, I'm out of practice but can see myself doing some more drawing in the near future. Congratulations on your post of the tardis! It came out really well.

You might think you're out of practice but to me, this is incredible! Thanks!!

Great entry and really nice process post @ckurtish. Nice use of the grid method to set in the proportions.

Thanks, yes the grid can really help for roughing it out.

This is an excellent process post to accompany your entry for the contest @ckurtish. I am really pleased you decided to join us and your process post is really well done and should help others pick up a few tips for their own drawings in future.

Thanks so much for your time and effort.

Good luck in the contest! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54