A visit to Howard Finster

in #art7 years ago

"My work is scrubby. It's bad nasty art. But it's telling something. You DON'T have to be a perfect artist to work in art." - H. Finster
finster quote.jpg

Yesterday I took a road trip on a cool crisp sunny day and visited Paradise Gardens in Summerville, GA . http://paradisegardenfoundation.org/
The warmth of love was felt and a true inspiration landed on my heart and helped revive that part of my soul again. Howard Finster was a truly remarkable extraordinary, yet ordinary man who helped pioneer the folk art movement. He was a preacher man and a bicycle repair man and he did not begin his artistic journey until the perfectly ripe age of 57, when he felt a calling that gave him no choice but to paint. Howard died in 2001 but his legacy and his spirit lives on in a quaint rural town off Rena Street. Thank you, Howard, for your contribution and for helping me to let go of my fears. And thanks to the people that are placed in our path to show us the way.
http://www.capturedoncanvasart.com/gallery.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54